almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2005-10-09 - 2:31 p.m.

October already?

As I write, the Blue Angels are roaring overhead, scaring the cat, and shaking the windows. Ah, fleet week.

Yesterday was my boy's birthday, so I organized a small dinner at Benihana to celebrate. My food snob friends were surprised by the location, but I am a lover of good food, regardless of the location. And every time I've had filet mignon or Chateabriand at Benihana, accompanied with a mai tai, I have been a happy girl. So there.

We would have had a full table, but my friend A and her boy had to drop out due to her play needng an extra rehearsal last night. And my friend H and his girlfriend bailed after we were there. That really irked me for several reasons. First, this girl had jumped off the bus because she just *had to* go to R*ss for some shopping, as they were on the way home to get ready to come out to dinner. So, he called to tell me they'd be late. Once they got home, she declared herself to be too crampy to go out and meet up with us.

Um, what? Not too crampy to indulge in spur-of-the-moment brand names at low pricse, yet too crampy to go out for fruity cocktails? Whatever. Clearly she didn't want to meet us. It gave my friend J endless comedic fodder though, so that was a plus.

Meant to go to the DeYoung today for the members preview, but got concerned it would be mobbed, and am instead planning a big trek on opening weekend, in the wee hours, hopefuly with friends. I swear though -- it is such a pain in the ass to try to schedule any sort of social activity these days. No one can committ, and even those who do flake. I am not going to make any more pans this year that involve me having to reserve anything -- that's for sure.

Just popped out a few dozen brownie cookies, and may still do some chocolate bread pudding. But am feeling so lazy that I may just go hole up in our bedroom and play Sims 2 for a while. Sometimes a girl needs some R&R.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.