almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2001-11-30 - 4:31 p.m.

Catchfire

For the past few months, I've been on a "9/80" schedule. In theory, it means you work 8 9-hour days, then one 8-hour day, and have every other Friday off. What it means in practice is you work 8 10 or 12-hour days, then one 12 or 14-hour day, and have part of every other Friday off and the occasional full Friday off. It's not perfect, but it's better than nothing.

I spent all morning on MUNI running errands � out almost to the ocean to buy kitty food from the vet, then over near the park for groceries. Came back to the apartment and made myself a very tasty lunch: pate, cornichons and humboldt fog goat cheese on a La Brea Bakery demi baguette, and a glass of Pepperwood syrah. I like to celebrate these days off since who knows how long they�ll let us continue with this �experimental schedule.�

It�s cold enough here now to start wearing my fuzzy scarf every day, along with gloves, a sweater, and a warm coat. That means it�s perfect weather for making soup! I like to cook for an audience, and don�t understand how to cook in portions that are acceptable for one person, so I invite people over for dinner whenever I get into my winter cooking zone. I�ve spent the last few hours slow-roasting vegetables (parsnips, Savoy cabbage, carrots, tomatoes, and onions) and combining them with canellini beans, garlic, celery, and vegetable stock to create a hearty soup. I can thank Todd English�s �Figs Table� cookbook for inspiring this soup.

I�ll be making a watercress and blue cheese salad to start, and be serving rosemary olive oil bread from La Brea Bakery on the side with the soup. The only choice now is beverages�

Food and wine are my two major hobbies. I like to eat, to cook, and to forage for new cooking supplies. You can generally find me at the farmer�s market every Saturday morning unless it is raining. As a result, my co-workers have started to call me �Martha� (as in Martha Stewart.) This doesn�t really bother me. In fact, I think it�s �a good thing.�

;-)

Sorry � couldn�t resist.

The angel at the top of the page is from Metairie Cemetery outside New Orleans. That beautiful blue sky reminds me of the winter skies here in California. BTW, all the photos posted on these pages are ones I�ve taken (you see, photography is hobby #3.)

Need to go look after my dinner preparations. Stay warm, and have a bowl of soup for dinner!

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.