almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-12-23 - 5:59 p.m.

four holiday seasons and counting

It's hard to believe I've been writing here, on DL, in this journal, for four holiday seasons now.

The girl who started this journal in 2001 had just decided the right thing to do was to divorce her best friend. And she knew she needed to have a place to think out loud and to capture how she was feeling. And to chronicle the new adventures she knew would happen eventually once she stopped feeling so sad.

Many of the people that girl read, and who commented in this guestbook, have left DL -- for LJ, for their own blogs, or for silence. But one of those readers moved to SF and became one of my close friends. And for that I am eternally grateful.

One thing that has not changed over these four years, however, is the fact that Christmas is still no fun. Well, maybe it was fun in 2001 when I went to London. Except for the heartbreak aspect of things. The year before that, my then husband confessed his infidelities. The Christmas Eve before that, my cat was lost, not to return for five long days. Prior to that there was the Christmas break home from college when my cat died due to catching pneumonia through the negligence of my mom and her boyfriend. I'd go on, but I think you can already see enough of a pattern here so I don't need to.

Other than taking photos of scary holiday decorations (new ones have been posted this week), and baking cookies, I dread the holidays.

So, it was a minor case of holiday blahs, mixed in with many holiday social obligations and a super busy work schedule that has kept me from posting here. What I have posted on LJ has been fluff, like the song lyric meme. I want to get off my ass and post my musical year in review, but that needs to wait until I've had a glass of wine, eaten some dinner, and played the Sims for a bit.

Happily, the friend mentioned above who came into my life thanks to this journal, and I will be spending tomorrow crafting. We each have the day off work and decided the best way to spend Xmas Eve day was making mix CDs and cards and other crafty projects. Heck, I may even try to make a go of my scrapbook project (for my Italy trip in 2000.)

Anyhow, even when I am not moved to write, I am reading here every day. I know you can't necessarily tell that's true since my commenting has been lax this year. But you'll just have to take my word for it.

Happy Chrismukkah!

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.