almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-04-03 - 5:11 a.m.

DC First Impressions

There are many things to be said for flying into a new City during the daylight hours�such as actually having time to explore. BUT, I always think there is something magical about flying into a new City for the first time after nightfall.

My arrival in DC was at eight on a clear, warm Spring night. As the plane made its descent, the streetlights twinkled and shimmered in white and orange hues. The monuments I�d only seen on TV for once actually gave me pause � made me wide-eyed even. Seeing them on TV, in the movies, and in photographs never impressed me. But seeing them with the dark fleece of the night sky around them, illuminated and looming against the sky, well, it made an impression.

No photos of this as I knew I wouldn�t be able to express the panorama of the City�s monuments and its impressive heft any better than those who�d come before me.

Too bad I won�t actually be spending any time here outside of the hotel in which we�ve set up camp for two days. That said, it is a funky boutique hotel with a posh, happening restaurant and bar. I was tempted to schlep on down to the bar for a glass of wine or some cocktails, but, given my mindframe, and the hot evening weather, mixing it up with politicos isn�t such a good idea. I can�t imagine much worse happening than getting chatted up, drinking too much, and being caught by clients and coworkers as I was making out w/some random guy on the outdoor terrace� Thus, I ordered in a cheese plate, salt cod/potato brandade, and a glass of house merlot. This came to the princely sum of $43! The brandade had way too much potato. And my work will only reimburse me for $30 of it thanks to these challenging economic times.

My only travel compliant, in this long day of flying, was getting here and trying to open my suitcase. Apparently, my dresses or patent leather mary jane�s must�ve looked suspicious � so they busted it open and rummaged around, and left their little note� then used an irritating little plastic thingy to close up my suitcase! It took at least 10 minutes to saw the damn thing open with my mini bar key. Luckily, I had a feeling this would happen and didn�t use my lock; this saved them from destroying my lock and or damaging my new rolling bag as part of their search. Be forewarned. Of course, this means not packing anything of any value in the suitcase�

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.