almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-04-04 - 5:56 a.m.

gogetfind

Met sculpture garden atrium I don�t typically sleep well in hotels, but this one, in addition to lovely midtown views, has soft, fluffy, feather comforters and featherbeds to sleep on, just like home�

This morning, I was faced with the realities of the excesses of the day before. It appears that, after several rounds at the whiskey blue, followed by a wine-soaked dinner, I returned to the hotel and ordered up what was, at that time in the wee hours, a very appetizing breakfast: eggs over-easy, bacon, hash browns, and a basket of baked treats. When I took the little silver dome off the plate and saw this greasy delight, I realized what folly it is to make such decisions. I�ll order tomorrow�s breakfast *before* we go out for too many drinks and dinner this evening.

I�m afraid I�m falling in love with this city already. I knew this would happen. I�ve spent too many hours in movie theaters and in photo books, drinking up the beautiful art deco details of this wondrous city�now I�m here and seeing them in person at all turns. As a result, my photo taking has gotten completely out of hand (luckily it�s all digital!) And now, after 8 years in my favorite city, I�m seriously considering this place as a possible new home.

I spent yesterday strolling along fifth avenue, and roaming the halls of the Met. Their Egyptian artifacts were particularly impressive, as were the atriums and courtyards throughout. I was disappointed though that their representation of the Tate Modern�s lovely surrrealism show was so condensed. Oh well � I can�t be so greedy. I already spent 3 hours going through said exhibit in London so I didn�t really need to see it again�

I have to go be a productive member of my work team now. Boo hoo. No more city exploring for at least 8 hours�

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.