almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-11-25 - 7:03 p.m.

bedside manner

roses Despite having spent all day Saturday at the hospital w/my boy, I trekked back there on Sunday (thanks to his best friend schlepping me to and fro) after spending the day playing tour guide for my very pregnant childhood best friend and her mom. Yes, the bulk of the day revolved around eating (cheesecake factory) and baby clothes shopping, and the Nordstrom make-up counter.

Contrary to the initial expectations of the staff, he was still in ICU on Sunday. Since this nurse (like the one on Saturday) noticed that my presence lowered his blood pressure, I got to stay far beyond the visiting hours. I held his hand, gave him kisses, and rubbed his head while he slept. He still had nightmares though, thanks to the psychotic ramblings of the incoherent older man in the next bed who didn't even chill out after the anti-psychotic drugs should have taken affect.

Finally, he was moved into his own room last night. His brother picked me up at home after work, and, after getting lost in the peninsula foothills for a good 15 minutes, finally delivered me to my destination. The pretty flowers were finally in place (and had, according to all witnesses been the chief topic of conversation and admiration in the ward all day). This made me very happy.

A funny side effect of all this has been I've spent several hours of quality conversation time with his brother, his best friend, and his aunt and uncle (plus smaller chats with other close friends). Thus, I've gleaned all sorts of second-hand information regarding how he feels about me. It seems so unfair, really.

But in a very real way, it's actually quite nice to realize how much this boy appreciates, admires, and respects me. It's nice to be appreciated for the insides as well as the outsides.

Must go bake cookies now. Goodnight.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.