almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-11-15 - 1:44 p.m.

celebratory eatz

butterflies in the conservatory Last night's dinner was at Hawthorne Lane in celebration of getting the job offer (which I will accept next week.) It will be lower total compensation (though higher base salary) due to less time off, no matching of retirement funds, and no benefits for the 1st 90 days (which is barbaric), and only a 75% reimbursement for education. AND it's moving back into the non profit education realm after 3 years at a Fortune 500 company... Despite all these apparent drawbacks, I am excited about again having an opportunity to make a significant difference in other people's lives.

But back to the dinner.

I'd only been to the bar at Hawthorne Lane for drinks and their fabulous tempura green beans. But I seemed to recall it kept topping friends' favorite dark and tasty restaurant lists, so I booked a table for 2 as soon as I had confirmation that my offer letter was being faxed to me at home.

We started off with some of those tempura green beans, then had a spinach/gouda/applewood smoked bacon/candied berries salad, and munched on the fabulous cheese/chive biscuits and country bread from the huge bread basket as we awaited our prime rib dinner for two. The Swanson merlot was the perfect choice for the beef.

Despite being full to bursting, I had to have dessert: a Humboldt Fog cheesecake with liquor soaked figs. Have I written here lately about how Humboldt Fog is my favorite cheese ever? You can imagine my bliss.

On today's agenda: reading my Zuni cookbook and writing a review of it for class.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.