almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-06-29 - 9:40 p.m.

taking stock

I know one should never gloat over the misfortune of others. However, if, hypothetically, someone had a boss so horrible and mean and incompetent that someone quit her job over it, hearing that said boss had been fired by her new CEO the day after she had returned from vacation still just might feel like a case of just desserts. But on to Johnny Depp news.

I have to share my excitement about hearing he's going to be the voice of the lead character in Tim Burton's new animated feature "The Corpse Bride", scheduled for release in October, 2005 by Warner Brothers. And a big "yeah!" for him again collaborating with the fabulous Joanna Lumley (AbFab and James and the Giant Peach), and Danny Elfman.

The film is co-directed by Michael Johnson (who is the only name in the outdated IMDB listing for this film) and Tim Burton. The director of photography is Peter Kozachik (visual effects supervisor for Nightmare Before Christmas and James and the Giant Peach), and the production designer is Alex McDowell (production designer for The Crow, Fight Club and also working in that capacity on Charlie and the Chocolate Factory).

The studio PR describes the film thusly:

    "Corpse Bride" carries on in the dark, romantic tradition of Burton's classic films "Edward Scissorhands" and "The Nightmare Before Christmas." Set in a 19th century European village, this stop-motion, animated feature follows the story of Victor (Depp), a young man who is whisked away to the underworld and wed to a mysterious Corpse Bride (Bonham-Carter), while his real bride, Victoria (Watson), waits bereft in the land of the living. Though life in the Land of the Dead proves to be a lot more colorful than his strict Victorian upbringing, Victor learns that there is nothing in this world, or the next, that can keep him away from his one true love. It's a tale of optimism, romance and a very lively afterlife, told in classic Tim Burton style.

I can't imagine I'll love it as much as I loved Nightmare Before Christmas (really, I love Jack Skellington and his dog zero). But the talents of the cast and crew lead me to believe I will have to plan to see it a few times on the big screen...

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.