almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-12-10 - 6:23 p.m.

a curious package has arrived

dark XMAS window I decided to work at home today, to keep from germifying my coworkers. Unlike so many other people who drag their germy bodies into work until they are hospitalized, when I awake in the wee hours with a cough, I like to STAY HOME and keep my germs to myself.

This enabled me to listen to the raindrops on my rooftop, and, eventually, enjoy a sunlight-filled workspace. Despite the glorious workspace, and the company of my cat, the job still managed to make me very grumpy, alas.

A high point in the day came in the form of an email from a coworker that said only: "you received an unusual package."

Unusual, eh? I wondered if it were, perhaps, making some strange noise? Or, did it smell funny? Were there odd markings upon it? I resisted the urge to email back immediately to ask these questions. I like the idea of my coworkers confronted with my unusual mail and stewing about what it might contain.

The best such stewing was last year when I ran away to London for two weeks around the holidays... there was a huge box delivered the day I left, apparently, that smelled really, really good... when I finally returned and opened the box, it turned out to be a Godiva chocolate gift basket...

I finally replied to the email late this afternoon to ask if it were from a certain Canadian province...and received an affirmative reply that it was indeed the package I thought it might be...Thank you, in advance, infrequency...

The delivery truck just arrived with the bulk of my baking supplies. This weekend is going to ba all about the holiday baking. Making the kind of cookies you have to roll out, cut out, bake and decorate, plus a few other types, and some fudge! These tasty treats will be disbursed amongst friends and taken to the workplace holiday potluck (I received a command performance request). Luckily, my most dangerous girls night out companion (who is currently nursing a broken heart) has volunteered to come over and decorate cookies with me on Saturday. Somehow, I have a suspicion red wine and loud rock music will be involved...

I just realized next week is the week before Xmas. Perhaps I should log off now and go wrap some presents...

P.S. Some Random Survey action.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.