almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-06-17 - 7:08 p.m.

read it in books

”louvre errr�actually, this past week was all about the magazine reading. This is no surprise, considering how I funded an entire employee�s weekly paycheck at my favorite local independent bookstore last week�hehe.

According to my credit card statement, that amounts to one of two large splurges there in the past month. Well, I suppose it�s better than having a cr*ck habit, yes? I�ll need to be sure to list the magazines I don�t need to keep on swappingtons this weekend. If you want �dibs� on any of �em, please drop me a comment or note.

Surprisingly, I found enough time to keep up with my online reading too (both publications and diaries/journals.) Some of the best:

  • The Christian Science Monitor had a great article about Max McCalman, the cheese master at Picholine restaurant in New York (same owner as my beloved Artisanal. I have his book The Cheese Course on my Amazon Wish List and hope it�s gifted to me for my birthday. Despite the overt religious affiliation you�d note in its title, I�ve found the CSMonitor to have some really good arts and entertainment culture over the past few years. Color me surprised.
  • Also on the food topic, our local paper ran a piece about how SF is like a backwater hick town when it comes to its silly lack of good outdoor dining. Hell, even San Diego has more outdoor dining than here! And yet we're supposed to be some sort of foodie mecca. Someone needs to correct this oversight, and pronto.
  • My final happy food news was also courtesy of my local paper, which reported on a few more key anchor tenants in our reopened and restored ferry building. It�s going to be so cool to be able to do artisanal/organic food shopping any time I want, just a few blocks from work. I am especially happy to see that my favorite Molinari�s counter guy will be opening up a deli� I suspect I will develop an incurable salami habit before long�hehe. The other food-related (but non-restaurant and thus not covered here) new tenant is Sur La Table. This place is starting to look a lot more like (Pike's Place Market in) Seattle every day�

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.