almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-05-25 - 9:57 a.m.

le marais

The Marais was the second neighborhood/district I really wandered through while in Paris (the first being St. Germain des Pres since that was where I was staying).

Initially, I was on a mission to find the Mariage Fr�res tea shop (which my usually accurate MapEasy map guide had indicated with a hard to decipher or just plain wrong listing). Turns out I kept walking around its location in a spiral, never actually walking down the Rue du Bourg Tibourg, which is apparently where the shop is.

Our story has a happy ending though, since I picked up my beloved Vanilla des Iles and Pleine Lune teas at their outpost in Printemps. (as though I really needed to bring home any additional tea. Ha!)

I ended up back in the Marais on my last day in Paris, wandering around through the shops, picking up a really cute pair of sandals, and browsing through the other outpost of Muji (a cool japanese lifestyle shop I went gaga over in London that has two outposts here). These lovely statues are behind the church that shares a courtyd with the Pompidou Center and its wacky kinetic sculpture-filled fountain.

I hadn't planned on ending up at this place (I was actually en route to some vintage clothing shops), but in my usual wandering off in the direction I wished to go without plotting a route, I ran into a pretty park and fountain that was on the way to where I wanted to end up, and followed it up to the church. If only my City were more flat to make such wandering a little bit easier on the shoes and calves...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.