almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-12-02 - 7:08 p.m.

musical meme overload

Stolen from her and her.

1. Of all the bands/artists in your cd/record collection, which one do you own the most albums by?
Hands down. it's the Jesus & Mary Chain, which is unlikely to surprise anyone reading this. The Cure and Bauhaus are next in line though.

2. What was the last song you listened to (voluntarily)?
"Jesus Built My Hot Rod" by Ministry.

3. What's in your CD player right now?
"Winchester Cathedral" by Clinic, which may be my favorite CD of 2004.

4. What song would you say sums you up [attach lyrics to bottom]:
Just Like Honey. Mixed feelings about it being used in Lost in Translation so prominently for that reason of course.

5.What's your favorite local band?
It was the Stratford 4 before they signed to Elektra and their sound became less Shoegazer-y. So, now, Fojimoto.

6. What was the last show you attended?
Interpol at the Warfield maybe? That was sooooo long ago though.

7.What was the greatest show you've ever been to?
Crap.Not sure. Bauhaus had an amazing impact, but the first time I saw JAMC was a huge deal, of course. Electrafixxion at Bimbo's deserves honorable mention as well.

8. What's the shittiest band you've ever seen in concert?
Tilt. I think they opened for Sausage at the Fillmore. Worst. Band. Ever. Not real enamored of the openers for Interpol this last time either.

9. What band do you love musically but hate the members of?
Can't think of anyone. I couldn't date a boy who played music I didn't like, and don't think I could enjoy music by a band I thought was lame individually.

10. What's the most musically involved you have been?
I've played piano and clarinet, and written about music off and on. And smooched a few musician boys.

11. What show are you looking forward to?
I guess the Live 105 Xmas show.

12. What is your favorite band t-shirt?
My Freeheat shirt, or the JAMC shirt with the big star on it. The latter was ruined by a certain ex-boy getting acid on it. Sigh.

13. What musician would you like to hang out with for a day?
Now that I am older and a smidge better-traveled and read than when I actually could have had the opportunity, it would be Andrew Eldridge.

14. What musician would you like to hump for a day?
That boy from Elefant is my favorite height range...

15. Metal question-jeans and Leather vs. Cracker Jack clothes?
Uh, what're Cracker Jack clothes? Do they mean Union Jack punk rock clothes? Leather and jeans.

16. Sabbath or solo Ozzy?
Sabbath. But for that genre/timeframe I'd skew more towards skynard or AC/DC.

17. Commodores or solo Lionel Ritchie?
No thank you.

18. Blackjack or solo Michael Bolton?
Is shock therapy an option?

19. Does Primus suck?
Primus sucks! Death to the Pixies!

20. Name 3 flawless albums:
JAMC- Psychocandy Cure - Disintegration PJ Harvey - Rid of Me

21. Did you know that filling out this survey makes you a music geek?
I'm posting this in an online diary. Duh.

22. What was the greatest decade for music?
1984-1994.

23. How many music related videos/DVDs do you own?
Haha. Oh my. JAMC videos; Depeche Mode Some Great Videos, Strange, and Strange Too; and a Diamanda Galas promo.

24. Do you like Journey?
I'd go for Def Lepard first.

25. Don't try to pretend you don't!
Ha. What-evah.

26. What is your favorite movie soundtrack?
Lost Highway and the first Crow.

27. What was your last musical "phase" before you wisened up?
Shoegazer brit pop.

28. What music is your "guilty pleasure" that you don't often admit to liking?
That's not my style.

29. What album have you purchased the most copies of in your lifetime?
Depeche Mode "Some Great Reward" -- it kept getting "borrowed" in high school and never returned.

30. Who is your favorite musician and why?
Peter Murphy. Gorgeous voice, beautiful cheekbones, and the best yoga posing. I adore him.

P.S. I need a good travel agent in SF to score me some affordable tix on Virgin to London then Glasgow for NYE.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.