almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-09-25 - 5:33 p.m.

pre-Pixies blather

Since I've never been to a show at the Greek, and since I am about to plunk down $50 for the pleasure of seeing the Pixies, I called N to ask him how the show was last night. In 10 years we went to at least 100 shows together (the late 90s were a low point of show going or that number would be much higher), so I know I can trust his opinion. Also, he's a huge Pixies fan, but an incredibly picky concert-goer, quick to be irritated by unintentional guitar fuzziness etc.

He had a blast and gave me the lowdown on the set list, and on the issues with the guitars overpowering the vocals. He also told me about some amazing Joey Santiago guitar distortion pedal tomfoolery wherein he made the guitar, on its stand, sound like it was breathing, and other tricks involving a drumstick. I can only hope to see such antics this evening. He also urged me to bring an old jacket to sit on so my ass doesn't freeze on the concrete seats, which was very thoughtful (and damn funny) of him to note.

He told me they opened with "the elevator lady" song (so called not because he doesn't know its proper name but due to the lyric as an in-joke reference to the David Lynch radiator lady song) but he misspoke and actually meant the radiator lady song from Eraserhead! Thinking he was talking about Levitate Me, I replied that I would have lost it immediately had I been there, since I adore that song, and even in the car it causes me to sing along at outrageous volume.

It's always amazing to me how quickly we snap back into the comfortable, funny, quick-witted verbal banter. While I always enjoy these conversations while they're happening, about a half hour later (which would be now, as I write this), I get a little sad that we aren't close friends any longer. Since this is out of my control, I have to push that thought out of my brain though, and move on.

Luckily, the promise of "Vamos" and all my other favorite Pixies songs is more than enough to do the trick...

They'll come and play, Their friends will say, Your daddy's rich, Your mamma's a pretty thing.

That maid Maria she's really O.K.

Vamos a jugar por la playa

I am so excited! Not as excited as when I saw the Bauhaus reunion tour, obviously, but pretty darn close. Details tomorrow...

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.