almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2001-12-01 - 12:00 p.m.

ribbons

The pouring rain outside means I'll be staying safe and dry inside all day, sipping coffee with my cat on my lap. Unfortunately, it appears this weather will continue all week -- and I don't think my boss will accept "rain" as an excuse not to come in to work...

I'm hoping next week isn't as hectic as this past week was at work. I'm planning on seeing "Amelie" on Tuesday night, and going to see Echo & the Bunnymen play on Wednesday, and don't want to be a shaking, ranting, snarling mess of a person. Wish me luck.

In the interest of not receiving a bunch of horrible Christmas presents this year, I've taken the following precautions:

  • planned to leave the country for the holidays
  • told everyone i don�t need anything and don't want presents
  • for people who know how much i love presents who don't believe the item above, i created an amazon.com wish list

Last year, I ended up with a beautiful cable knit sweater from someone's European travels...that was about 2 or 3 sizes larger than I could ever wear. I gave it, along with some other ill-advised clothing gifts, to a homeless woman outside of the Crossroads Trading Company store rather than going inside and selling my stuff.

I tend to do a lot of purging every year before Christmas. I get rid of clothes, books, CDs, and various items that I've been gifted with and never used over the past year. One thing I never get rid of anymore though are my records. The ones I still have will be here 'till they go crashing through the floor when we have our next big earthquake.

Rainy days are good...they keep me at home working on all the projects I put off over the past few months. On today's agenda: working on PR stuff for a friend's band, writing a brochure for a designer friend, and planning out a portfolio for another designer friend. Think that will keep me busy enough?

Honestly though, the day will also involve lots of listening to Sisters of Mercy records and reading diaryland entries...

;-)

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.