almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-02-28 - 1:59 p.m.

Stills Recap

The Stills Sharon and I worked the merch table for NoisePop last night, and thus had a bird's eye view of the stage for Elephone, On the Speakers, The Stratford 4, and The Stills.

Elephone had been getting the most local indie scene hype, but neither of us really got into it. The music was catchy and all, but the vocals just didn't grab us.

Now, On the Speakers, on the other hand, which I only knew of as the new band from that guy who was in Creeper Lagoon, was amazing! Really polished, tight, dreamy power pop. Two or three dozen people tried to buy an EP CD or some sort of musical recording of theirs from me but I couldn't help 'em out. Their EP is due to come out in the near future on Universal, thus, we had nothing on hand. They did a swift business in their hand silkscreened t-shirts, 70s-style jogging shorts, and baby blue bikini tops.

Apparently, they'd played in the City recently, with Nada Surf. They're also due back for a few nights at Cafe du Nord in March. They were a very nice surprise.

I've heard the Stratford 4 play a few times before, so I wasn't as excited about them (the 1st time couldn't ever be beat: they opened for Jim Reid's post-JAMC project at BOTH). I love their "This Could Be Heaven" album and "The Revolt Against Tired Noises" album and EP, but the latest album, despite all the kudos it received from the mainstream music press, lacked the same connection with me. It may have been their progression away from some of the swirly, shoegazer stuff ('cuz I really like such things).

Their set last night was heavy on the rockin', and tunes from the last album. They also announced they'd been in NYC for a good long while, recording their new album with the assistance of Rick Ocasik (yes, of The Cars fame), at Electric Ladyland Studios. Apparently, it's going to be released on Elektra. It's nice to see them pursuing their passions and getting some label support.

The Stills closed out the evening's entertainment with a rocking, danceable, thoroughly enjoyable set. I snapped about a million photos, many of which are much more arty and distorted than is strictly necessary, but low lights and energetic performers will have that effect on the digital camera.

I liked their CD quite a bit before seeing them live, but it hadn't crawled inside my head the way some other recent albums had (like those from Singapore Sling or Stellastarr*). Their live show, however, sucked me in completely. They're excellent musicians with good stage presence, and, yes, they are all hot boys. Yum.

Now, before you go and leave me a "tsk, tsk" comment about the last statement I made, please note that 1) every woman in my vicinity echoed that statement at least once, and 2) I'm once again a single girl so I am free to make shout outs to hot boys all I want. In that vein, I should also say that the boy running the board next to the stage was very hot, and very familiar. I am wondering if he used to work at Wasteland, or The Warfield, or why it is exactly that he looks so familiar...

We scored all sorts of cool free stuff (not as cool as the free swag those Oscar folks will be receiving), including: admission to the sold out show, a free NoisePop t-shirt, an Amoeba goodie bag with free issues of Magnet, Kitchen Sink, Mother Jones, lots of other good stuff, and the very cool Amoeba CD opener! Not bad for selling some posters and t-shirts at a show I would've paid to go to.

any comments? (4 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.