almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-06-17 - 4:43 p.m.

blue monday

horned skull I hate graphic design.

Actually, that's a lie. I *love* graphic design...as long as someone else is doing it.

My boss gave me another emergency project this afternoon -- to design an incredibly boring portion of a flyer. I used this as an opportunity to go home to work.

In practice, the work is not what's happening at the moment. Instead, I'm gazing out at the sunshine-flooded landscape outside my window, drinking some Boeger barbera, and eating a tarted up cheese pizza from Trader Joe's (I added some gorgonzola to it.) The pizza leaves me deeply unsatisfied despite my upgrade.

You see, I really wanted to splurge on thai food: chicken satay, thai egg rolls, mus sa mun curry, and pad thai. But, in the interest of saving some money to better afford a lovely vacation at the end of summer to tame my wanderlust, I abstained.

This week is already expensive enough as planned. Wednesday night is dinner and a movie; Friday is a museum opening cocktail party; but the weekend is the best part...

My closest childhood friend is coming to visit, and bringing along her mom. We three ladies will be painting the town red all weekend. I foresee much shopping, eating, drinking, and overall silliness. I haven't seen either of them in over a year...we have a lot of catching up to do.

I am concerned that this new "Your favorite entries" feature is going to cause me to spend days on end re-reading my favorite journals rather than going out and experiencing life...Perhaps I should give myself a daily diaryland time limit...

;-)

I found a large white envelope from my employer in my mailbox when I arrived home. In a flash of paranoia, I thought it was a layoff announcement (*can* they lay you off by post? I guess so if they can lay you off via email...) Instead, it was a survey about what a lovely place of employment my employer provides for all of us worker bees who really are so very grateful for our jobs.

This is probably the worst time ever for me to be randomly selected to represent my peers and my personal perception of my workplace. After the past week of demotivational team meetings and announcements of the restructuring/re-org that will never end (it will, instead limp miserably along for a very, very long time), I am not the person you wish to have answer this. It is my personality, you see, to be incredibly direct and honest. Thus, they are not going to like this feedback. Of this I am certain. At least it is "confidential" and anonymous...right?

Off to sharpen my #2 pencil...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.