almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-07-01 - 12:49 p.m.

mind: the perpetual intercourse

skyscrapers After a week full of cold, blustery SF Summer weather, the weekend blossomed into sunshine and warm weather�thus, I got absolutely nothing done all weekend� other than becoming really irritated at the fact that I can barely afford to live here. Ahem.

I spent much of yesterday lounging about, listening to Skinny Puppy�s �Mind: the Perpetual Intercourse� on vinyl, and plotting out the week ahead. That album was, when I lived in my apartment with the lovely porcelain bath tub, my favorite soundtrack for lounging amidst the bubbles�the latent affects from listening to it yesterday sans bubbles seems to be preoccupation��Love� always gets stuck in my head�

Perhaps as a reaction to my leisurely, non-productive weekend, I am in full shit disturber mode today. At the crack of dawn, I was at my desk at work, sending our Web application vendor a spell-checked and copyedited page from their help system�revised so that it could actually HELP someone complete the task at hand, without being felled by the factual omissions and misspellings.

I would be embarrassed if I kept telling someone to �go look at the Help system� to only find out that, apparently, no one from my firm had ever looked at any of the pages and fixed all the typos or had even QA�d the suggested courses of action to ensure that they even worked.

I am tempted to keep sending in more of these edits, but, as the client in this situation, I am already doing more than my share of free testing and problem solving. At this rate, we�re going to be lucky to launch this damn thing by next Spring. I hope to no longer be associated with this horrible project long before then. There ends my work rant.

My day will be capped off with cocktails with my former boss, so that is what keeps me motoring along in my thankless tasks for the day�Only 4 more hours to go�

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.