almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-11-09 - 12:34 p.m.

20 Songs...

conservatory Although I have done some reading, and walked to the bookstore to pick up some more source materials for my article (I couldn't deal with the idea of sitting inside any library on such a gorgeous day when I could, instead, sit on my sofa in the sunshine writing), I have yet to do any writing on my article. That's OK though, since I plan to go more personal essay than hardcore food investigation in my piece. After all, it's marzipan. I love marzipan, but not enough to engage in the scholarly research necessary to write a 496-page tome on it, a la that comprehensive book on Salt. This girl just doesn't have that required attention span these days. I should note, yet again, how much I love my local bookstore (Green Apple). A clerk actually let me know the Julian Barnes book I was buying (Something to Declare) was available in a cheaper edition (they had an overstock closeout of the British release of it), thus saving me $10. Can you name me another bookstore that would do that?

Despite a clear and solid lack of appetite, I made myself eat a big blue cheese, bacon and red onion marmalade omelette to give me some fuel for my writing. I also stopped in at Schubert's bakery to procure a slice of their gorgeous, tasty, marzipan-covered Swedish Princess Cake. All in the name of my writing project, of course.

As I walked home, I daydreamed about making some sort of marzipan-topped cookies (probably chocolate). And about hot fudge sundae flavored kisses for dessert last night after the obscene amounts of sushi for dinner.

Life is good.

In the spirit of procrastination, I submit, for your amusement, my JAMC mix: 20 Songs (not to be confused with 21 Singles. In ABC order since I can't play favorites with these babies...

  • 33 1/3
  • Almost Gold
  • Birthday
  • Good for my Soul
  • I Hate Rock n Roll
  • I'm in With the Out Crowd
  • Inside Me
  • Just Like Honey
  • Just Out of Reach
  • Never Understand
  • New Kind of Kick
  • Rollercoaster
  • Sidewalking
  • Snakedriver
  • Sugar Ray
  • Surfin' USA
  • Taste the Floor
  • The Living End
  • Upside Down
  • You Trip Me Up

BTW I am a little bit disappointed that my Oxford Companion to Food has only a smidge more than 2 columns devoted to marzipan, and absolutely no mention therein of Princess Cake.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.