almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-11-07 - 2:20 p.m.

I said please don't slow me down
if I'm going too fast

conservatory Monday, I finally booked my flight to London. Then, while trying to book a flight to Rome from London, I got shut out. It just wasn't happening. So I had to call and void out my ticket.

Thanks to being so pissed off, I have yet to reschedule my flight(s). If I can't do all that I wanted to do, what's the point in going at all? Yes, that is my bad attitude. Or, at least, that's what it was on Monday.

But, all of a sudden, it got even more complicated.

Tuesday night, I awoke at 1:30 a.m. (so, really, Wednesday morning) and couldn't get to sleep... naturally, I went onto online job sites to see if there was anything interesting. Amazingly, there was: A job description that pretty much summarizes my favorite parts of my last 3 jobs. So, at 2:30 a.m., I submitted my resume... and a little past lunch on Wednesday, I got a call and a phone screening. Yesterday, I had what seemed to be a good interview that ended with them asking me to call them if I was at a stage where I had to make a decision on another offer and needed them to speed up the process, etc.

Apparently, less than a quarter hour after my interview, they called to ask me to come back next week for a 2nd/final round of interviews, and an editing test.

Must try not to get too excited in advance...must also remember to breathe.

They'll want the person to start quickly. Clearly, this means they wouldn't be on board with the 2-3 weeks off at Christmas. So, I'm stuck. At least for the next few weeks. This would be the perfect escape hatch...so I don't want to accidentally fuck it up.

Add to the mix here that my new friend is having major (i.e. life-threatening not to do it, life-threatening to do it) surgery in less than 2 weeks, and you could say that I am a wee bit anxious/nervous/worried/excited. Things are going so fast, but I'd rather they do that than grind to a halt. Life is too short to be bored or stuck in a rut...let's hope this merry go round doesn't spin me off...

P.S. I have yet to write even one word for my food writing class thanks to having no free time, and an inability to focus. I am so screwed.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.