almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-10-20 - 7:30 p.m.

Pub Therapy

which song...
  • reminds you of an ex-lover:
    "The Jeweler" -- This Mortal Coil. I can't even stand to listen to it. Makes me too sad.
  • reminds you of an ex-friend:
    "Third Uncle" -- Bauhaus
  • makes you laugh:
    "More & Faster" -- KMFDM
  • makes you wanna dance:
    "Groove is in the Heart" -- DeeeLite.
  • reminds you of the one you want:
    "Head On" -- JAMC. What's funny is I didn't really like this song for ages due to its slick glossy feel...but there's a specific turn-of-phrase here that specifically reminds me of someone. That's more than enough commentary.
  • you wish you wrote:
    "One Line" - PJ Harvey.
  • you never want to hear again:
    I can do without hearing anything by the Dave Mathews band ever again, thank you for asking.
  • sums up your teenage years:
    "Just Like Honey" -- JAMC or "pictures of You" -- The Cure.
  • you like to wake up to:
    I no longer wake up to music...but, in high school, I always liked to put on "Surfin' USA" by JAMC to wake up slothful slumber party participants. Hehe.
  • you like out of your parents record collection:
    I liked mom's Elvis and Blondie 8-tracks quite a bit.
  • reminds you of your first crush:
    "It's the End of the World as We Know It..." -- REM ('cuz he looked just like that cute skater boy, and was himself a cute skater boy)
  • is from your favorite movie:
    "Perfect Drug" -- Nine Inch Nails and "This Magic Moment" -- Lou Reed
  • makes you think of the night:
    "Assimilate" -- Skinny Puppy

After staying home from work for two days, and having minimal contact with the outside world Saturday, I decided it would be in my best interest to keep my plans w/my friend S and go out for some girl talk and beer drinking. Our plans went awry, however, once a couple of her guy friends and her boyfriend and his roommate all decided to come along too. Typically, that's the kind of thing that causes me to bail, but I hadn't seen her in a week and was starved for human conversation, so I schlepped down to my local pub and got myself a pint of Fullers ESB.

Her boyfriend arrived with her, and scurried about to ensure she had red wine to drink and a burger to eat. Her two guy friends arrived next. One I've met on several occasions, the other, whom I didn't recognize, sat down across from me. First he started raving about how crazy he was about the girl he's seeing, but she's moving to France, blah blah blah. Next thing I know, I get the feeling he's hitting on me.

I decide I'm wrong about that, due to lack of human contact and post-fever brain cell loss, and continue to talk to him. About an hour into our evening, the roommate shows up, and I realize he's the boy my friend has been telling me about for months. She thought he was exactly my physical type (tall, thin, pretty, dark hair), and had my same taste in music/film/art/etc. I should've known that's which roommate she invited, the sly fox. Unfortunately, I don't get to talk to him, or even my friend, since my attention is being monopolized by annoying smitten guy.

My only break from him is going to the jukebox to play "Transmission" by Joy Division, "Paranoid Android" by Radiohead, and "Primary" by the Cure. I was happy to see the late-30s British pub regulars actually dancing to "Transmission" -- I'd been worried my jukebox selections might be unappreicated and perhaps even "skipped" over.

Eventually, annoying smitten guy plops down right next to me on the bench and continues to talk my ear off, alternately insulting me ("You are real full of yourself aren't you?" "You need to let down those walls." "Not that you're pretty...") and coming on to me ("Your nose is perfect." "Your hair is beautiful; I think it's your greatest asset" and physically picking me up from where I sat and plopping me down on his lap -- a move I extricated myself from by springing to my feet.) At one point, he complained, loudly, to my friend that I'm not at all interested in him. "She keeps looking at that guy!" he exclaims, pointing at the roommate. Hehe.

I graciously reminded him that he shouldn't care -- or be flirting -- since he has a girlfriend. "Where'd you get that idea??" he sputtered. "Uh, from the way you were talking when you first arrived about the hot blond with the big boobs you're seeing that you're crazy about." "Well, she's not my girlfriend," he said, getting in quite a huff.

What a cad.

He then proceeded to bitch me out about not remembering meeting him last year, at the same pub, on a night during which I completely ignored him. If only I had done the same this time around. Oh well.

My only contact with anyone else was eating dark chocolate toblerone graciously supplied by the roommate. I decide it is time to play more songs on the jukebox. I ask the roommate if he'd care to hear anything in particular, and he suggests he join me at the jukebox so we can select some tunes together. We proceeded to ditch the annoying smitten guy by standing and chatting by the jukebox for ages, then coming back to the pool room and looking at my Paris photos on my camera for the rest of our time there.

And in case you are wondering, we played the following 3 tunes: "Dead Souls" by Joy Division, "Happy Hour" by the Housemartins, and "Heroin" by the Velvet Underground.

Happily, my new friend provided me with an excuse to graciously go home at a reasonable hour, and dropped me off at home, thus saving me from a charming late-night MUNI ride...

New friends are a good thing. I need more of them.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.