almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-05-08 - 5:46 p.m.

...grab hold of me
cause I'm your favorite fella...

Metarie headstone and urn You know it's been a long week when it takes you three days to digest the Sunday paper. At least it was the Sunday New York Times that took me so long to get through, rather than our local paper...

The 80s are back

I nearly choked on my coffee Sunday morning. The first 'graph of this article namechecks R.E.M., the Mary Chain, and the Velvet Underground. When have I *ever* read JAMC's name in a newspaper? Music magazines, yes, but a national newspaper? I was stunned. I also immediately regretted having sold back some extra vinyl to Amoeba a few weeks back, but I just haven't the patience to eBay.

The article includes a party photo showing people dancing while wearing 80s-ish clothes. It's all too horrible. It also notes that there's a new film coming out from Michael Winterbottom called "24-hour party people", apparently about the Factory records scene (in the late 70s not 80s though according to IMDB)...even a gratuitous Donnie Darko mention.

I especially loved the pull quote: "The artifice of 80s pop culture offers relief from the 'keep it real' ethos of hip hop and nu metal". Uh huh. Because we all are livin' the life expressed in the hip hop videos on MTV, right? OK. It's just really weird to have one's childhood/coming of age become a retro revival trend. I refuse to go back to wearing jelly bracelets or feather/ribbon barrettes. I was done with it the first time! The only positive that could come out of it is having more people I work with actually recognize the names of some of the music I listen to...not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing though...

Anyway, the article was certainly one of the most interesting things I've read this week (another would be Erika Krouse's short stories in "Come Up and See Me Sometime.")

I am incredibly chipper today. Perky even. I was bouncing off the wall at our crack of dawn team meeting even. People eyed me with suspicion, then asked "is this boundless energy and enthusiasm boy-related?"

I replied, quite honestly, "No, there's nothing new boy related."

"Aha! So that means there's no *new* boys or new things happening, but there are things already in progress!" was the fast reply these sharp-witted folks gave me.

Ah, well. Sort of, but not really is the best assessment.

I had an enjoyable evening of boy-eye-candy watching, but that's really just a perk of living here. Mostly, I'm just really, really happy with my self, my city, and the many options open to me, most of which are still completely unknown to me. I'm excited about the vast unknown...and about a Summer full of beautiful music.

And yes, still playing the White Stripes CD 24/7. Will work for tickets.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.