almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-11-06 - 6:31 a.m.

...

Legion Lion Today is only Wednesday, yet I've already put in 24 hours at work...and there's a lot more where that came from. Too much work makes me sad. I haven't even had the energy to read my new Steingarten book on the bus on the way home...instead, I just carry it with me in my laptop bag as a promise to myself that, yes, someday I will get to read it...

All this work is a nasty side effect of our layoffs. The project I've been working on for more than a year is going to be launched onto sone unsuspecting clients in a kickoff call on Friday. This means I've been scurrying around getting all the required approvals for a zillion and one newly created documents, and killing many trees by spending several hours at the copy machine.

I'll be ready for a vacation after all this is over. Pleasantly, there's one on deck for the end of my BETA period: Thanksgiving!! Since it's all about food, Thanksgiving is, in fact, my favorite National holiday.

Will be spending it cooking up a storm with Maira-Rose like last year. She needs to come over to my place and browse through my excellent selection of cooking reference materials so we can devise some fun appetizers. I'm leaning towards the blue cheese stuffed, buttermilk batter-fried figs wrapped in prosciutto from the Zuni cookbook...sweet + salty is one of my favorite taste combinations...

Must slurp down more Dean & Deluca house blend coffee, pack the rest of the coffee into my awesome 20 oz. "food pod" from our new Container Store, and get on my way...Today will be all about burning CDs, making up easy-to-use test packages, and shipping out some big UPS boxes...keep your fingers crossed that I am able to avoid paper cuts...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.