almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-10-26 - 12:13 a.m.

Interpol and Open Studios

Just got in from Interpol at the Warfield...amazingly, we obtained last minute floor tickets, and planted ourselves against the upper level wall on the floor, with a perfectly unobstructed view of the stage and no shoving.

Obstacle 1 but no Obstacle 2. :sigh: But Roland gave me shivers as always. Next Exit. Evil. Narc. Not Even Jail. C'mere. NYC. PDA, Say Hello to the Angels. Leif Erikson.

I think Slow Hands is my favorite off the new album, most likely, after hearing it live. So very good live. I forget how I fall in love with these boys whenever I hear them play. So well worth heading out for.

They only played for on hour though, including the 1 encore. The guitar techs, low lights, and Sam back onstage suggested encore 2 (and perhaps Stella or Obstacle 2) was imminent, but no dice, after a good long while the house lights came back up, to a resounding wave of boos from the crowds that had been screaming for them only seconds before.

Stacy rocks for calling in a favor for these tickets, and getting me tipsy on margaritas, and putting me in a cab so the rain drops wouldn't melt me. Now that's a good friend.

At Amoeba yesterday, I traded in some unloved CDs and came home with the latest albums from Peter Murphy and Singapore Sling. Peter's latest is sultry -- the kind of album perfect to listen to whilst making out with a hottie. The Singapore Sling album has the same gritty guitar noise (ala JAMC) I liked in their first release, though thus far, I haven't found any tunes to be as catchy as "Listen" was even on first play. We shall see if it grows on me. It's very solid though.

We spent the rest of the afternoon doing a quick run through of the outlying SF Open Studios buildings. I really liked the labrinth and other dark fights of kandinsky-style fancy of Felix Macnee, and the lovely mail art-incorporating collage pieces from Dennis Parlante. Must go earlier in the day next time to allow for time to poke through the huge main building. Photo on this page is of a marvelously decaying green building in that vicinity.

P.S. Can someone explain why I am being carded all the time now? Tonight, miss carder lady sniped that my ID was expired and wouldn't give me a hand stamp! I found the valid ID with the photo that doesn't look like me; she flipped from one to the other 4 times then reluctantly gave me the stamp. I don't look 20 -- give me a break!!

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.