almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-09-15 - 4:17 p.m.

NYC

skyscraper Have you bought the new Interpol album yet? I'm plaguing everyone with this question since I simply can't get it out of my head. I left home today and went to the Haight, thinking that might do it for me. Instead, as I walked home through the park, the strains of "NYC" and "Stella Was a Diver and She Was Always Down" kept repeating in my head... of course, I've been listening to the CD on repeat non stop since it came home with me, so what else do I expect?

The weekend's worth of fun and frivolity (1 bachelorette party and 3 rock shows), has left me a wee bit wiped out. Once you get used to getting out of bed late, and staying out 'till 2:00, the prospect of getting up at 5:30 a.m. to go into a workplace full of depressed people fearful of losing their jobs is a bit of a downer also. Luckily I have NYC travel plans to keep my mind occupied...

I logged on to priceline to see if I could get a good cheap deal on a hotel in midtown. I know it sounds crazy to even try to find a $125 3-star hotel room in NYC since no such thing exists in SF either, but, that's the max I can spend...amazingly, they met my price in a 4 star hotel that is imminently convenient from a transit standpoint.

Of course, the proximity to a large train terminal may be scaring security conscious travelers away from this hotel. Personally, I feel I have the greatest chance of harm coming my way in riding the MUNI buses, or in crossing the street in front of one of them... and I am damn pleased about my cheap hotel rate! This way I won't inconvenience anyone with my early morning flight hours or my keyboard tapping at odd hours... unless they decide to crash there w/me after along day out and about, in which case they know the chances they are taking...

;-)

My to do list includes museums (temporary MOMA QNS for sure, Guggenheim and Whitney and Neue Museum would be nice). shopping (vintage frocks and gourmet foods, 'natch), and generally site seeing (have yet to see any of Brooklyn and have a few skyscrapers left to photograph)... I am looking forward to a few days of new scenery and getting to know some new people...

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.