almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-09-13 - 5:54 p.m.

friday the 13th

pier building Eight glasses of wine and a few chips full of white trash dip doesn't really have the same nourishing effect as actually having dinner. Although this was clear to me when I awoke this morning, it was not so obvious at last night's bachelorette party, thrown by me for Maira...

At least I was smart enough to know I'd want to take today off from work.

No, it wasn't one of those trashy "girls gone wild" stripper fests like the one Maira wrote about. Instead, it was a house full of girls drinking lots of tasty Tempranillo, Bearitage, Riesling and Gewurtztraminer from Gundlach Bundschu, listening to the Flaming Lips and Radiohead, eating white trash dip, quiche, salmon mousse (no Monty Python jokes please!), and hummus, and chomping on gummy representations of a certain male body part while gossiping about...boys of course! And about the dismal state of the Bay Area economy and how hard it is to find jobs for all of us creative types. Uh, pass me the wine, please.

We had to do some of the traditional wedding shower type stuff though, or else the guests would have rebelled. We did a "newlywed game" type thing (though we abstained from making use of the phrase "making whoopee", since, really, it should only ever come out of Bob Eubanks' mouth), and then dove into the presents... The best gift by far was the fondue pot as Maira and I recall with reverence the fondue she used to make before her fondue pot mysteriously disappeared... oh yeah, the vibrating chef from Good Vibrations was darling also.

Things got off to a slow start due to my too much wine and not enough food internal fuel status. Despite my slowness, I got my act together and purchased tickets for the epoxies at Bottom of the Hill tonight, and headed out to the Haight for some music therapy at Amoeba. I think I'm at Amoeba at least once a week now. It is truly a happy place...and thus the perfect hangover cure.

As I walked in, the most beautiful man walked past me on his way out. He actually caused me to stop in my tracks and look twice. I realize I should have touched his arm and said "you are a hottie." However, I was still in my pre-music therapy hangover phase, so these words stuck in my head unsaid. Damn!

I picked up a copy of Interpol's lovely "Turn on the Bright Lights" CD, walked around rummaging through the records and used CDs, then got in line. SPent much time chatting with my cashier about how this album was flying off the shelves, how smart the label is for pricing it at under $10 since it's the 1st release for a new band, and how we wished all the labels were smart enough to do that. I mean, aren't *you* more likely to take a $10 chance on a band you've never heard play but about which you have read great reviews than one priced at $16 with similar reviews? I thought so. The CD is great, BTW, lots of Joy Division ambience, and a little bit of a David Byrne sound to the singer's vocals at times. Very cool. "Say hello to the angels" is my fave track on the album as of this moment in time. This CD will be on my frequent listening list for a while...Wish I had tickets for their gig this Tuesday. Sigh.

I apparently so sidetracked/bewitched the cashier that he forgot to complete my transaction and give me my change...he was quite embarrassed when I had to prod him to do this so I could be on my way. I strolled out the door with a smile on my face, my music therapy having rid me of the last semblances of a hangover...

As I walked down the block, I glanced into the mexican place's window, and saw an incredibly cute dark haired boy sitting in the window, eating his burrito, with notebook and pen at hand. I continued up the street another block, but was turned around by a gust of wind that blew my hair into my face, causing me to turn around and head back towards Amoeba in order to see where I was going...Clearly, this was a sign. Tying my hair into a knot as I walked down the street, I saw the cute boy was still sitting in the window, his burrito almost finished. I dropped into Rockin Java, procured a latte to warm me on the rest of my Haight Street stroll, then went into the Mexican place, interrupted the cute boy's lunch and proclaimed:

"Excuse me -- I just had to tell you what a cute boy you are!" and smiled at him. "Thank you!" he replied, beaming at me. Then I ran away without any further conversation. There's just something awesome about random acts of flirting and flattery...I highly encourage it. Makes both you and the complimented person have a much better afternoon.

Window shopping yielded nothing I needed, so I headed to the bus stop. Noticing a homeless man about the age of my grandpa fishing in the garbage can for some coffee, I asked him if he needed a warm up and gave him the rest of my latte then sat down in the bus shelter.

Unfortunately, my second act of kindness did not go unnoticed. Another homeless man, who I'd watched steal an ear of corn from the corner produce stand on my way to the bus stop, sat down next to me and started making small talk, both to me and to someone apparently talking inside his head. Nice. I should have gotten up, but, noticing his overly aggressive irritation earlier with a tourist who didn't want to chat with him, I decided to be polite. Bad move.

After complimenting me on my beautiful hair, he assured me he wasn't trying to hit on me... or maybe he was. Ha ha. This was not funny to me, alas. He wanted to know where I was going ("around here and there" I replied), and half followed me on the bus to shout at me to say hello to my mother for him. OK. Sure thing. The other bus passengers were not pleased. Not pleased at all.

Next stop: Bottom of the Hill. Wonder if this karma will hold...Happy Friday the 13th indeed!

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.