almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-09-12 - 1:38 p.m.

you said something i've never forgotten...

wharf railing A year ago yesterday, a text message on my phone from my ex stopped me on my way out the door at the crack of dawn.

"Fuck! Don't go to work today!" it read.

Given his erratic behavior at that time, I quickly messaged back: "WTF?"

When he didn't immediately reply, I turned on the TV (an oddity for me at any time but especially in the a.m.)

Like the rest of the citizens of this nation, I watched the horrible live shots of NYC, a City I had not yet, as of then, visited. I called my boss on her cell and told her downtown SF was not anyplace I planned on going that day.

The bus ride into work yesterday morning had the same quiet and stillness of the one I took in on 9/12/01 (a day in which our building and the ones around it received multiple bomb threats, causing us to evacuate several times.) No one chatted on their cell phone or with their seat neighbor. Actually, through some odd MUNI scheduling, they were running multiple express buses into downtown, making interaction with other people unnecessary. Several coworkers had this same experience...

As I wandered around at lunch, I noticed how desolate and abandoned the financial district was, and how somber its denizens were. My stroll led me to a pier where I watched a few locals fish:

And watched a couple take off into the City on their bicycle made for two:
The view of the buildings on the water reminded me of the photos I took in Venice, and how much I feel the need to get away from this City for a while...

That was all the inspiration I needed to go back to my desk and book a flight to NYC for next month. The lovely dearanxiety and dangerboy have offered up shelter and to act as partners in City exploration...I hope their City provides me with the creative spark I need, and helps cure my overpowering wanderlust.

I have spent far too much of my time waiting in the past year. Waiting to get divorced. Waiting to find out if I'm joining the ranks of the unemployed next month. Fuck it!! Life is too short and unpredictable to not seize the opportunities you see before you. You can never know if you'll get another chance... or what you may miss out on by not following your heart and dreams. Celebrate life by living it well.

xo almost gold

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.