almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-09-09 - 11:29 a.m.

lick my lips, i'm desire

skyscraper Mmmm. There's almost nothing else in the world that makes me as happy as a fabulous dinner. Zuni is now neck in neck with Boulevard for the title of my favorite restaurant in SF. Yesterday had been a gorgeous sunny day (we get our Summer here a little later than everywhere else), making it pleasant to stroll down market street to the restaurant while taking in the city lights. Walking around at twilight is one of my favorite things to do in any city...

The maze of seating areas upstairs at Zuni, causing you to traipse up and down stairs, facilitates your dining in a cozy little window seat, making sharing your food with your dining companion so much easier...

A split of Schramsberg sparkling wine with an apple bouquet to it accompanied our assortment of oysters and started things off well. We moved on to appetizers -- I had the fabulously fishy ceasar salad and a fair share of my dinner companion's tomato salad. The tomato salad included an especially lovely stripey heirloom tomato with an exquisitely fleshy feel that was very tasty.

The 1998 Spottswoode cabernet sauvignon was a nice splurge. It had a nice olive nose, and a rich, berry and anise taste. It was a great match for my wood oven roasted squab with sweet corn and pearl onions, and for the rare, tender, skirt steak. Somehow, after all that, we managed to share an espresso granita with whipped cream. They really should have brought out an extra dish of the whipped cream though -- it was so tasty that we competed with each other for the last few tastes of it...

Zuni is one of the SF places I'll miss the most if I pack up and take off for parts unknown...

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.