almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-09-07 - 11:26 a.m.

get your groove on

skyscrapers The Minus 5 and Wilco both put on amazingly fabulous shows last night. They actually got our "we're too fucking cool to care", head-bobbing SF concert crowd to show some emotion, and get their groove on a little. The best fucking time I've had in ages! If I'm lucky, perhaps I'll luck into another ticket and get to go back tonight...

Only drawback of the evening was the massive quantities of herb being smoked all around me made me ill (thank you weed and grass allergies!)

There was a nice eclectic crowd at the show and celebrating in the Mission afterwards, full of the nicest of the regular suspects and music scenesters... In conversation with a musician boy, I was given a token of wisdom: most musicians keep playing music and wake up middle aged and with nothing to show for it -- no success, no money -- only sex.

This revelation probably explains why so many of the musician girlfriends always seem so unhappy -- locking themselves in the ladies room to cry 'cuz their guy smiled at some other girl or sitting on a bar stool, sucking down the whiskey sours while their guy mingles with his cronies, wishing they were at home in bed.

I think the girlfriends and wives who stay home are the smart ones. Who wants to see their significant other being fawned over by fan girls who've driven 600 miles to get a CD signed, tell him how much his music has changed her life, and to give him a hug? If they do come along, they'd better be social butterflies, happy to flit along and chat up everyone in the bar, and have a guy who doesn't get jealous of this behavior. Otherwise it's pretty grim. Hence the advice I was given by a pregnant musician's wife a few months back: don't get involved with a touring musician.

Last night proved to me again that getting out and socializing can be a good thing, even if you're showing up somewhere that you don't really know anybody. Once you determine you all have something in common, like music, you can pretty much chat up anyone if you just make an effort. Clearly, my problem is laziness -- I so rarely bother to make the effort...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.