almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-09-02 - 8:21 p.m.

everybody loves me goes away...

kitty and dahlias Ah, William Reid. How I miss his collaborations with his brother. Though it appears they did play together recently, as a backup band for their sister (and it appears William even took the photos of his sis that grace her Web page)...I can only hope this may someday lead to a reconciliation so I can again here them sing the words at the top of this page...This digression brought to you courtesy of the randomized playlist on my iBook...

This has been a gloriously beautiful and hot weekend (It's 71 degrees as I type this at 7:30 p.m.!!) Walking the 30 or so blocks home from Trader Joe's yesterday afternoon, carrying two heavy bags, in the sunshine, I actually broke into a sweat! This made me smile as it reminded me of sitting in the midst of sun-filled windows at Kingfish, eating delightful soulfood in excellent company, as beads of sweat formed on the back of my neck...Closing out the Seattle theme, all those souls braving the rain showers to hear sweet music at Bumbershoot this past weekend were likely quite jealous of us Bay Area folk...

I engaged in a bout of consumerism to do my part for the ailing U.S. economy, but, alas, was not very successful. Much of what I purchased at Amoeba is going back to be resold, and no dresses called my name at Ambiance. Thankfully I purchased a beautiful CD for a friend living in London and picked up some reading at Green Apple (the latest McSweeney's, Paris Review, and "Already Dead")...Not like I don't have a stack of unread or loaned books sitting around the house or anything...but I must feed my brain to keep going on the writing projects that are currently fluttering about, still in gestation...

This means my real accomplishment for this long weekend was getting up early for the farmers' market and coming home with an assortment of heirloom tomatoes, the gorgeous dahlias you can see my beloved cat inspecting upon this page, avocados, peppery watercress tips, plums of all hues, fresh mozzarella, etc. I put together an excellent 'cress/tomato/mozzarella salad, made up turkey sandwiches on La Brea Baking rolls, and washed up some grapes to take to work this week. Dinner was a refreshing Sanford Chard with an avocado that I cut in half and filled with zinfandel balsamic vinegar and lightly salted with sea salt. Yum. I love Summer for all its treats...

This week at work holds a visit from our new VP of marketing and, I'm sure, much jockeying for position. Oh yeah -- and a skills assessment that will determine who stays and who goes when the layoffs hit...Too bad I didn't get around to baking more of my famous brownies. Unfortunately, baking brownies in 80+ degree heat, even if said baked goods could influence someone to not fire me, just wasn't in the cards...luckily, tomorrow is another day that could bring fog and cold breezes with it... thus saving me from the temptation of running around in a girlie dress and flirting with cute boys (last week's only accomplishment.)

Bon soir.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.