almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-08-31 - 6:42 p.m.

caused trouble all over town
and it's bound to start a reaction�

dahlias and a charming cat Want to see how quickly I can clear out of a place after downing two pints of Fullers and my first food of the day? It only takes four magic words: "I love you sweetie." Uh, gotta go. Bye.

The context doesn�t matter. Neither does who�s doing the talkin�. It sends me out the door faster than a lizard wriggles away from his tail after being snuck up on at the crack of dawn by my ever so lovely kitty cat.

I thought I�d gotten over this flight reaction, but it turns out I am incorrect in that assumption. Clearly, this is something I�ll need to practice hearing. In the interim, if you�re a cute boy hanging out with me, just avoid that phrase all together when we�re together, k? You�d hate to ruin a perfectly nice foggy SF afternoon, now wouldn�t you?

In this case, the magic phrase was uttered as I was on my way out the door, so it worked out OK for all involved parties�

I�m not sure if absence makes the heart grow fonder, but after a few months without seeing my cute bartender, I must say I�d forgotten what a hottie he is. Too bad he�s still working that long distance girlfriend thing. Not that the girlfriend changes his feelings for me� but I am careful not to intrude upon other people�s relationships, even for a fun, no-strings-attached rockin� good time. Now *flirting* is a whole different thing�that�s OK regardless of relationship status. I flirt with every fun/cute/smart person I come into contact with (girls and guys) since it makes the world a more pleasant place.

This week at work was stressful for everyone, so I kicked into super girlie/flirty mode. A highlight was returning to my veal fattening pen (er, cube) and finding a member of senior management in it checking out my photography. He �fessed up to having been lurking there for a while, waiting to see if I�d turn up so he could congratulate me on an award I�d won, etc. Then he stood around flirting with me for a good quarter of an hour� so we could see what his *real* motivation was for stopping by. Heh heh. Note that I most certainly am not complaining about this.

Just about every lady I know at work swoons when he flashes a grin at her. I am somehow blessed with some trait that attracts this man � he sits next to me at every meeting/function we both end up at, and ends up in the elevator with me about once a week (in a building with 24 elevators and twice as many floors)� flirting with him and my wickedly evil cute boy coworkers (all of whom, like me, like boys) is just about the only fun I have at work anymore�

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.