almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-05-22 - 11:21 a.m.

my last two weeks

clouds I knew it was going to be a good show when they played Sigur Ros before Peter took to the stage.

1/3 of the way through, his battery pack and amplifier for his mic acted up, causing him to pull it off and toss the microphone into the crowd. He'd been his normal exhibitionist, whirling dervish dancing self up to this part of the evening, but this is when he really let loose. He eventually asked for the mic back, then said "I wanted this back to ask, doesn't anyone have any questions?" then tossed it back into the crowd.

Person #1 wanted to know when he was going to play "Just for Love". She was rewarded with a very funny riff of a person asking for that song, and a remark that he wasn't making any money doing this...and that this playfulness was for everyone's benefit, including ours and his voice. He tried again.

This next girl went on and on about how wonderful Peter was and how much she loves him. Peter got the mic back and looked perplexed for a moment before saying "I thought you were a very pretty boy! But now I see you're a girl." He stalked across the stage and then said "If I were a girl I'd think...no, wait, that's not right..." He was spot on funny. So very playful and really seeming to enjoy himself.

I love Q&A sessions. Whenever I have the opportunity to ask questions, typically at film fests, I always take advantage of it. When someone wants to give you the gift of their answer to your question, it seems to me you'd be silly or perhaps even rude not to take it.

And unlike those 2, I *did* have questions I'd have liked to ask him. Question 1: how does it feel to be here in the U.S. touring, with your family still in Turkey, and all this unrest and uncertainty? What keeps driving you to the stage? Question 2: What are you reading now, and what was the last book that truly sucked you in? You can tell from his songs and his eloquent communications on his Web site that he is well-read, and well-read people are exactly the ones whose brains you want to pick when looking for something new to read.

At the end, I managed to come away with a set list I can share with you here. It almost didn't make it home as a girl tried to snatch it from my hands as the stage hand handed it to me, and the band and Peter looked on from the balcony above the stage. She insisted it "was a tie". Finally she asked me how much I loved Peter, to which I replied: "This is the twelfth time I've seen him play." She dropped her hand and backed off, to the amazement of her boyfriend. One of my two friends who had come to the show with me had watched the whole scene. She was relieved that I didn't end up with a broken nose, or some more broken ribs such as those so pleasantly received at one of his shows 7 years ago. Had she persisted, I would have been forced to tell her that whole story, which would have been likely to have done the trick.

Peter Murphy, at the Fillmore, San Francisco, May 22, 2002

Things to Remember
Fake Sparkle or Golden Dust?
No Home Without its Sire
All Night Long
Creme Dala Creme
Jungle Haze
Your Face
Gliding Like A Whale
Crystal Wrists
My Last Two Weeks
Roll Call

ENCORE 1

Girlchild Aglow
I Fall With Your Knife
Cuts You Up

ENCORE 2

Subway
Just for Love

ENCORE 3

Space Oddity

The show's vibe was mystical, soothing and lovely. Long-time accomplice Hugh Marsh was spot-on with his sparkling electric violin. All sorts of wonderful percussion effects, with Peter even sitting down and playing a drum for Just for Love. All Night Long was the first older song he played (and is one of my favorites), but My Last Two Weeks, which he's included on the new album although it's an older tune, was, for me, the heartbreakingly beautiful highlight of the evening.

The songs stretched themselves out luxuriously, with each song presented with a different arrangement from the previous times I've seen him present them live. This is why I keep going back to hear him whenever he's in town. It's a guaranteed good time, even though I always seem to end up at the front next to some incredibly drunk person who inevitably pours their beer/cocktail on me. This is why a short skirt and patent leather shoes are the best concert-going gear possible -- easy clean up.

;-)

As Hugh Marsh wound down the final notes of Space Oddity, Peter walked off stage, wishing us sweet dreams and blowing us kisses...then walked upstairs to the balcony to watch us enjoy the final moments of the show. The crowd finally noticed him up there and gave him a sustained ovation, proclaiming our happiness and love, and sending it up to the chandeliers...

This is how it looks
From where we weep...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.