almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-05-19 - 11:42 a.m.

don't lets start

NYC Abstract My major activity this weekend, other than posting another mix-tape, was going to see Gigantic, a documentary about They Might Be Giants. The film was screening as part of the SF Indie DocFest.

As predicted, this was exactly the attitude adjustment I needed. My movie-going companion and I got there late, which, given the sound problems that caused the film to come on an hour later than scheduled, was a blessing. Most of the chairs were taken up by the time we got in, so we made our way up to the very front where we found BEAN BAG CHAIRS!!! Thus, we got the best seats in the house.

Throughout the film, the crowd was clapping and singing along through most of the musical bits, causing the director to commend us in the Q&A session as the best audience so far. The only downside of the event were the two grouchy ladies who sat behind us bitching about the late start to the movie, not that they were doing anything afterwards, mind you. One of them also kicked my bean bag. What a meanie. But once the movie started, their attitude improved and they got with the program.

After seeing how happy this movie made me feel, and how many of the songs I was compelled to sing along to, I've decided I'm going to go see them next time they play here. Checking their Web site though, it appears they're playing a whole slew of other places soon, but NOT SF. Bummer. I guess I'll have to wait. And be patient. Or fly to NYC in August!

Of course this entry means I can take this opportunity to list my top 14 (I tried really hard, but I couldn't pick just 10) favorite They Might Be Giants songs:

  • Don't Lets Start
  • Istanbul (Not Constantinople)
  • They Might Be Giants
  • (She Was A) Hotel Detective
  • Ana Ng
  • Cowtown
  • Put Your Hand Inside the Puppet Head
  • Youth Culture Killed My Dog
  • I Hope That I Get Old Before I Die
  • Purple Toupee
  • Lie Still, Little Bottle
  • Shoehorn with Teeth
  • Birdhouse in Your Soul
  • Particle Man

If you're not familiar with the above tunes, I suggest checking out the TMBG official Web site (you can play with their dial-a-song page) or this unofficial site which has lots of clips, lyrics, etc. You can also call their amazing free Dial-a-Song line at 718-387-6962. It's just a regular call to Brooklyn that gives you a direct line to a tiny little answering machine with a TMBG song on it. No extra charges. I'm sure when I was in high school my mother must have wondered who the hell I knew and was calling in Brooklyn...hope she never called the number herself to find out...

Today is SF's annual silly "Bay to Breakers" marathon, typically featuring lots of naked people or people in silly costumes, running through our city streets. Thanks to the rain today, all such people were soggy in addition to being silly. I'm contemplating flaking on my Star Wars Episode II and dinner plans tonight since I am concerned I might melt.

Much better to stay inside, drinking coffee, playing on the Web, and considering changing jobs and moving to a city where I can actually afford to buy a house...rather than staying here, paying exorbitant rent and staring at the world's ugliest brass chandelier for a few more years. Of course, I could always kick down $400,000 to purchase a one bedroom condo, for 30 years of $2400 a month payments and $80k down, provided I find a new job that at least doubles my salary. Ugh. These thoughts are all in my head today thanks to the big fat "for sale" sign that has sprouted on my building. With every sale of the building in which you rent in SF, the prospect of owner-move-in eviction always looms large...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.