almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-02-06 - 3:37 p.m.

blues from a gun

British Museum Mask Sculpture My SF Indie Fest film extravaganza is finished for this year. I ended up seeing 6 films in 5 days which is 1 more film than I bargained for. In addition to countless short films and the three films I mentioned in my last entry, I saw:

"Listen With Pain" was a very straightforward documentary on EINSTUERZENDE NEUBAUTEN that also cemented the idea of Blixa Bargeld as the original prototype for the ideal goth boy. As noted by Nick Cave in the film, Blixa's wailing and screeches were "not the type of sounds one usually heard coming from an adult person. It sounded more like something that should come from a strangled cat or dying child." (forgive me if this is not an exact quote -- I wasn't taking notes in the dark.)

Personally, I was interested in the social context the film provided for the political and artistic events happening in 1980 as the band formed. Also good was the way it showed the band's evolution. As the friend who saw the film with me aptly noted, there's only so long you can bang on metal scraps underneath a freeway overpass before it gets old.

I must also mention that Blixa, in his furry hat, is quite a cutie. Too bad he opted for a trip to China rather than appearing at the screening. ;-) Please note, however, despite my previous comment, I am not a goth. Please see also, my membership in the Not-a-goth diary ring.

My screening of "Two Days Till Tomorrow" came about quite by chance. In light of all the Toronto-ites on diaryland, I'm surprised I didn't hear about it sooner. You see, I like to volunteer my time to assist at film festivals and wine tastings in order to contribute to the culture of this fine city I live in and to help support the things in life that make me happy. Sometimes, I help out with PR, marketing and Web design tasks for artists, bands, etc., or, in the case of special events like the festival, I help out on site dong any number of things that need to be done. So, yes, that means I'm the person who takes your ticket, hands you a ballot, or asks you to please scoot in towards the middle so everyone can sit down and enjoy the film, thank you very much.

I'd been hearing about "Two Days Till Tomorrow" from other festival attendees and it turns out it was playing while I was volunteering so I was able to see it. The filmmakers were there and presided over what, I heard, was one of the most lively Q&A sessions of the week. The film was edgy, creative, and a lot of fun. David Lynch influences were there, in my opinion, most distinctly with some of the sound distortions that reminded me of the scenes with Bob from "Twin Peaks". I thought the overall story was good and the character of Steve was as funny and wacky as he was wacked out on his homemade absynthe.

On a personal level, I found it inspiring to see the passion for film and the excitement at sharing their creativity with film lovers that these filmmakers exuded at the screening. Too many people spend too much time and energy doing things for money or out of obligation or a million and one other things...kudos to these guys for following their passions and getting this film completed. If you get a chance to see this film at a festival near you, put it on your list.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.