almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-07-11 - 6:22 a.m.

Why can't you see
You got me chasing honey bees

sutro baths This week is going by so quickly I thought yesterday was Thursday already since so much had already gone on...

I finally got to go drink some vino at SFMOMA last night, with my modern art loving coworker, in celebration of the Ellsworth Kelly exhibit opening. We thought we'd be able to go in and mill aroundin the permanent collection before the reception, but saw that we were mistaken...that was when the Donors Circle patrons got to go in. So sorry, our mistake. We thus took a stroll through Yerba Buena gardens and both noticed for the first time how the green blue glass in the newish Four Seasons hotel building complements the red brick of the lonely church that abutts it on Mission Street...I will have to go back when the lighting is better to snap a photo or two...

Ended up killing a half hour at XYZ, the bar at the W hotel. Unfortunately the upstairs bar, with its sinuous booth that runs its length and it SoCal feel, was not yet open so we were confined to the downstairs bar...We were pleased to grab bar stools so we didn't have to sit next to the woman talking on her cell phone who was hogging the ottoman/coffee table by having her bare feet planted on it...little did we know the partial nudity of strangers was not to end there...

The Kelly exhibit had a few very witty pieces (I especially liked the green and black collage), but wasn't overall too exciting. The DeKooning drawings, on the other hand, were fantastic. Seeing the manic energy and the transformation of the colors and lines as his style burst forth from the earlier figurative drawings was amazing. Noticed that in these drawings the fetish of the high heeled shoe often makes the woman bovine, as though she has hooves rather than feet (and scarlet hooves at that!)

Since this was the coworker with whom I was to attend the Yoko Ono opening (but we both flaked after having cocktails), we had to walk through it together...I am glad we didn't go to the opening -- walking through that tight space with 3,000 drunk people would have been irritating. As we entered the room with the plexiglass maze enclosed toilet with the black seat cover, I saw a woman walk in, lift the lid of the bowl, and walk out. We continued walking around the room until, out of the corner of my eye, I spied a man, with his pants (shorts, actually, as I found out when he stood up) 'round his ankles, seated on the toilet.

I have never had the urge to flash a museum full of people, nor to sit on a commode with an audience, so I can not relate to this man and his urges. I can only guess he needed some attention. But in SF, where everyone maintains a level of cool disinterest and detachment at such events (as they do at concerts), he wasn't really successful. Poor guy.

any comments? (4 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.