almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-07-17 - 4:59 p.m.

bela lugosi's dead

new scenery 5:30 a.m. and I'm sitting in a sparsely occupied SFO terminal with caffeine on an empty stomach jitters, listening to the atmospheric strains of Bauhaus' "Bela Lugosi's Dead"...this can only mean one thing: it's travel adventure time again! I need to remember *not* to let corporate travel book me on 7 a.m. flights...since you need to be at the airport 2 hours early now, that means leaving in a cab from my apartment at 4:30 a.m., which means getting out of bed at 3:30 a.m.!! ugh.

Since I always have a bit of a hassle getting through airport security with my bag full of electronic gadgets, and my too many metal objects on my person, I made sure to strip myself of belt, earrings, ring and watch before stepping into the line. Of course, that wasn't good enough. Though I made it through OK, my poor patent leather purse was singled out for extra x-raying. Perhaps the screener had never seen a Palm Pilot, digital camera, or headphones before? I really have no idea... I am just pleased I didn't have to take off my sandals and stand barefoot on the gritty carpeting...

My last night's sleep at home before travelling is always horrible. Last night was better than most though -- I slept for a good four hours before waking up and watching trashy TV (5th Wheel and some other evil singles dating show)...also caught the Breeders playing on the Late Late show...then caught another hour of sleep. I hope I can check in early so I can take a catnap before the work obligations start kicking in...

The past week has been barely contained chaos. You'd think this was the first time anyone every saw a PowerPoint presentation deck...I wish in vain that it would be my last brush with PowerPoint... but my boss is safely out of the country on vacation, one of my team members has left for her month long personal leave while she decides if she's staying in SF or moving home to the East Coast, and I'm counting down to a nice bit of free time in a new place.

48 hours of nearly non-stop work, followed by four days of nothing to do...I can't wait.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.