almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-07-07 - 1:06 p.m.

SF Eatz

Louvre Mostly for the fabulous ladygoodman, I am sharing with you an email I recently sent to a friend who was about to visit my fine City, in response to his "where should I eat?" question...Please note that this list is all about the vacation time splurging (both $$$ and calorie wise).

Downtown/SOMA
Boulevard is probably the most expensive restaurant in SF that I've been to (for a couple of my birthdays, including lunch last year), BUT the food is really good, and the interior with its art noveau mosaics is awesome. You have to at least stop in for a drink to check it out.

Bacar has good food, including super thin crispy pizzas, and a novel wine program (and downstairs lounge) that lets you order many wines by the glass or 1/3 of a bottle or half bottle, which I like since you can match wines w/your courses even if you have only one dining partner with you. Dinner only if I recall correctly.

Civic Center Area
Zuni. This is my favorite restaurant in SF. Always amazing inventive food w/emphasis on artisanal produce/cheese and local ingredients. Also, amazing wine list and the best french fries. Good for lunch or dinner.

Indigo has good food at a good price point for the quality. Despite attracting lots of folks going to the opera and ballet, it still feels somewhat casual. Dinner only

Hayes Valley
I frequent Suppenkuche for solid german food (with a California freshness) and lots of german beer on tap, and Absinthe for excellent french bistro fare. Both are best for dinner.

The Mission
Delfina is often hard to get a reservation at (dinner only), but has a very cool vibe, is in the mission, and has excellent, inventive CalItalian food.

Also in the Mission, are two great comfort food places, with the same owners: Luna Park has the American cuisine (and great goat cheese fondue) while Last Supper Club has family-style Italian. Both are a lot of fun. Best for dinner, especially due to proximity to live music, etc.

Mmmm... I'm ready for lunch now.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.