almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-02-18 - 4:38 p.m.

best friend

fuck. thanks to one stroke of the keyboard, my beautiful diaryland missive was deleted and I must hastily try to recapture its essence...

My best friend from college has been on my brain today. Maybe it's because I spent yesterday drinking and flirting with cute boys (two of our primary activities together). Or maybe it's because I think of her whenever I hear Andrew Eldridge sing Vision Thing. Regardless, once I get going down this track, it's an hour-long trip down memory lane...

Thanks to the speed habit that made her impossible for me to be around, I haven't seen her in ages. But I can picture her zipping down the 405 freeway as clear as day when I play this tape, also posted to mix-tapes:

mental excursions

  • Age of Consent -- New Order
  • The Village -- New Order
  • Just Like Honey -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • You Trip Me Up -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • Vision Thing -- The Sisters of Mercy
  • You Could be the One -- The Sisters of Mercy
  • Night Time -- Bauhaus
  • Third Uncle -- Bauhaus
  • Join in the Chant -- Nitzer Ebb

  • Fun to be Had -- Nitzer Ebb
SIDE B

  • Primary (the red mix) -- The Cure
  • Never Enough -- The Cure
  • Sea of Sin -- Depeche Mode
  • Happiest Girl -- Depeche Mode
  • Best Friend -- English Beat
  • I Confess -- English Beat
  • Groove is in the Heart -- Deee-Lite
  • What is Love? -- Deee-Lite
  • Crowds -- Bauhaus

This tape was the soundtrack to our trips to L.A., our daydreams, our evenings of flirting with cute boys at SOMA...Any boy paying close attention to the content of these songs should have been able to figure out he shouldn't give his heart to either of us, as we certainly were not to be trusted. But, alas, few heeded this warning. But enough of that.

I haven't been updating regularly in the past few weeks due to my SF Indie Fest hangover, and due to having too much to do at work, making me a tired, sleepy girl. I like to think I've gotten back into the swing of things. I sucked down more than my fair share of beverages at Toronado's Barley Wine festival this weekend. My favorite was the Old Thunderpussy, made by the fabulous Magnolia brew pub located just up the hill from Toronado.

Next up on the agenda, following another brief spurt of too much time to be spent focusing on work, will be Noise Pop! 6 days of indie rock all across the City...now *that's* why i live here...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.