almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-11-26 - 8:49 a.m.

t-day baking fest

After years of *eating* brioche...I finally *made* some for Thanksgiving. And it turned out pretty darn good, especially for a first effort. I seem to have a nack for yeast dough products. Kate thought it could be a little sweeter, so I think I'll use some super fine sugar in the baking cup next time.

Thanksgiving dinner had way too much food (as per usual), but had an extra high level of conviviality and good conversation. Especially after Maira-Rose's brother caught the beautiful vintage O'Keefe and Merrill gas stove on fire while broiling wanuts too close to the flame. Thankfully, since we had the fire extinguisher at the ready for the deep fried turkeys, disaster was averted.

I did not make my figs + blue cheese + prosciutto on brioche crostini because Maira-Rose's brother showed up with the makings of poached figs + blue cheese on toasts. Instead, I put out the figs to eat, along with some of the prosciutto and the cheese. I took the bulk of the prosciutto (yes, imported, $25 a pound stuff), and went downstairs and fed it to the wild orphan kitties that live in the backyard. They were most thankful. And it's all going to end up in Maira-Rose's Holiday DVD. Haha.

Other treats that I made/brought include:

  • Prosciutto and Laura Chenel goat cheese empanadas
  • Corn Meal pistachio biscotti (substituting vanilla for the called for Anisette)
  • Cheddar and parmesan crackers
  • Pt. Reyes blue cheese dip with pears
  • Mt. Tam triple cream cheese with lady apples

Yum. I love Thanksgiving. I am thankful to have had such a wonderful group of people with whom to share last night's feast.

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.