almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-04-25 - 6:23 a.m.

birthday presents

Castro ceiling It's never to early to start buying yourself (or for others to start buying you) birthday presents. In fact, my favorite birthday present ever was given to me a good 2.5 months early because the gift giver *knew* how perfect the gift was and knew she could not keep it under wraps that long...I'm also a big proponent of the idea that if you want to ensure you receive something you really want, you must buy it for yourself. After all, you surely deserve to be happy on the one day a year that's all about you...

Given this past experience, when Seven Lions winery's brochure popped up in my mailbox a few weeks ago, I knew it was a sign. You see, they made my favorite wine at the Zinfandel tasting I went to earlier this year. So I placed my order for a bottle of their Joe & Emily's zinfandel, and for a late harvest version of the same. I plan on drinking one or both at dinner on my birthday later this Summer.

The problem is, once you start buying yourself birthday presents, it can be hard to stop. You try to rationalize a way that the lovely Italian sandals you just purchased could also be a birthday present to yourself. After all, it's a significant borthday after one hell of a year. Don't you deserve a mound of presents that make you happy?

Finally, you turn your attention to the planning of the actual birthday celebration. This is when the full-fledged evil sets in. I hate surprise parties so I'm certain not to get one which is good. I've been leaning toward having a dinner at a local comfort food place. Friends, food, and wine all within stumbling distance from my place sounds like an excellent idea. I'd almost started planning this when I discovered I may not be able to afford my Summer vacation to Spain (plus, I may not be able to get away from work until July...)

That's when it hit me. The perfect way to celebrate my birthday: Attending the Venice Film Festival and spending a few days in Rome on the way home. Brilliant plan don't you think? Since it takes place a few weeks after my birthday, I could conceivably have my dinner and take off to Italy too. What a brilliant plan!

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.