almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-04-27 - 8:23 a.m.

mask

St Marks Square in Venice All signs are pointing to Venice these days. And no, not just because I've got it into my head that I want to attend the Venice Film Fest this year. You see, I came home this evening to find the new issue of Wine Spectator waiting for me. Its cover this month is very simple. 4 small, tasteful photographs, and a screaming headline that fills the cover: "Italy's Greatest Vacation Resorts. Capri. Sardinia. Venice. A Wine Traveler's Guide."

I nearly fainted.

A coworker I may end up travelling with has her heart set on Capri and Rome, and I have this renewed urge to see Venice exclusively through my own eyes, without the drama of difficult travel companions. I think it's time I sat and wrote about my visit to Venice last year so I can get on with planning my next visit sans baggage.

I will say the lions everywhere are a large part of why Venice is a magical place for me. The city shimmers in the evening light, from its gilded glass mosaics to its gold-encrusted exteriors...It's also a City made for walking about which suits me. The only thing I don't particularly like are all the horrible pigeons in St. Mark's Square. I actually cheered on a wicked little boy who was chasing after the pigeons with a rolled up newspaper...he gets major points for going against convention at such an early age.

The hotels they cover in the Venice story are way out of my price range unless I become a trophy wife in the next few months...but one of the restaurants, Al Covo, looks awfully familiar...The sad thing is, unless I have receipts, I am unsure as to where I ate in Venice since there was so much *drinking* involved. And no travel journal writing (unlike Rome).

OK. Where did I put the box of Venice ephemera? I feel some writing coming on...though it may not be posted here 'till the wee hours since my day is mostly filled with more film fest volunteering. So, if you're attending any screenings, be sure to be kind to the volunteers directing you places...

the shadow is cast...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.