almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-06-27 - 7:22 a.m.

take me out to the ballpark...

Last night, I was manhandled by a burly off duty fireman at a bar�Mind you, I�d turned blue, wasn�t breathing, and lacked a pulse. Thus, I can hardly blame him for the intense rib and chest pain I am using vicodin to mask today.

This week was one of those incredibly hectic weeks where I had plans every night and back to back meetings every day.

Wednesday, after 2 novocaine-fueled hours at the dentist, having 2 temporary crowns put in, I walked through union square in the sunshine, back to work. I even stopped to purchase a funky striped tan and black 20s style hat to keep the sun off my face. I was anticipating drinking lots of beer, and eating a big disgusting basket of garlic fries at the ballpark, watching the Giants kick some Dodgers butt, with a huge group of coworkers. I�d gotten my metabolism ready for the grease that morning with a bacon egg and cheese bagel (yum)�

As soon as I walked into the office, one of my favorite coworkers rounded me up for the pre-game drinking at a bar and restaurant directly across from the ballpark. When we arrived, we saw a few coworkers were a few beers ahead of us. With my jaw and face still numb form the novocaine, I could barely sip water, so I sat out the first round or two. By 5:45 or so, I was finally able to drink without slobbering like a baby, and proceeded to drink most of the plastic cup of crappy light colored beer I was handed.

I started getting bored with the singles scene at the bar, and started feeling really hot (hell 90 degrees is a heat wave in SF). We were on the outside patio which was packed wall-to-wall with beer-swilling baseball fans. I turned to my friend C. and said �It�s getting too hot in here. I�m going to go get some air out front.�

After that, I remember nothing.

My friends who were there told me that I uttered those words to C., turned away, took one step into the crowd, then collapsed like a rag doll. Apparently, I hit my head nice and hard on the concrete. It was the fact that I immediately turned blue (since I had stopped breathing) that freaked everyone out.

An off-duty fireman took it upon himself to start rescue breathing and CPR chest compressions. Another such person scooped me up and started giving me the Heimlich maneuver. After 3 minutes or so, I regained consciousness and didn�t understand who the fuck all these people were who were staring at me�couldn�t they get out of my way so I could go get some air?

Since the patio had been full of cell phone users, several of my coworkers were in hysterics about being put on hold by 911. Someone had gotten through, so by the time I came to, there were emergency personnel with an ambulance on the scene.

I�d like to point out that the emergency medical folks were exceptionally nice. The one who ended up in the back w/me was cute and kept calling me �love�, which was soothing somehow. My friend C. rode with me in the ambulance to keep me company. Considering that she�d been up since the crack of dawn to fly from NYC to here, and was jetlagged, it was an exceptionally sweet thing for her to do.

In addition to the bruises and abrasions up and down my legs, and on my feet, I ended up w/one across my left cheek. I suspect that one will end up peacock blue by tomorrow. The manhandling by the fireman was immediately evident in the pains in my ribs. I�ve broken them before, so this was unfortunately familiar pain.

Once at the hospital, I had a CAT scan, EKG, a bunch of blood tests, and chest x-rays. Thankfully, my lung wasn�t punctured by one of my ribs. All tests showed nothing out of the ordinary which is good, but also upsetting.

I am so glad I had C. there with me through all the tests, etc. Having her support made it a lot less horrible, especially when one nurse who wasn�t paying much attention took off a vacumn container that she was using for the blood draw and didn�t close off my vein. Feeling the warm blood dripping down my arm, onto my fingers, really made me angry. There ended up w/a small pool of my blood on the floor that stayed there (partially covered up) for nearly 5 hours.

There�s more, but I am still tired, so it will come later.

any comments? (6 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.