almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-06-30 - 8:21 p.m.

back to the grindstone... First, a big thank you to everyone who left me comments and guestbook entries. I truly appreciated them.

Four days of lazying about at home trying to recuperate fulfilled my doctor's ordered bed rest. Thus, today was my first day back in the office since my little accident. A little accident that, BTW, my coworkers are all referring to as my near death experience.

That is, all except those who have asked me what I'm going to do with my second chance at life after having been dead for a few minutes.

Ahem.

Yes, I spent way too much time today answering prying questions from well-intentioned coworkers. Among some of the more interesting comments, including rumors that were circulating in my absence, were:

  • "I hear you got to kiss a fireman."
  • "I heard you swallowed your tongue."
  • "Don't you see this as a sign that you should quit and do something more meaningful with your life?"
  • "I heard you have a heart condition you didn't want anyone here to know about..."

That last one is my favorite. I suspect my coworkers should look into applying their vivid imaginations to screenwriting, preferably for daytime dramas.

It is clear though that I scared the crap out of everyone. Especially the folks who saw it happen first hand. To say they are felling their own mortality is an understatement. Several came out and told me they thought they were watching me die in front of them. No wonder I was dead tired by lunch time.

I am achey and tired, and my bruises look and feel terrible. But, as was pointed out, I am alive. And yes, I am certainly happy to be alive.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.