almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-04-22 - 9:55 p.m.

bon voyage

stack of bubble wrap prints I received three fabulous "bon voyage" gifts today, which I shall relate in order of occurence...

I've spent the past 6 months working on a time consuming, important, expensive, and pretty much thankless project at work. It's wrapping up right now, with the end products being delivered while I am on vacation. The deisgn firm I'm working with sent me an email this morning, telling me to expect one more package, with some cumpulsory project items for my review, etc. I was pissed. I even swore out loud after reading hte email. I didn't need another surprise heading my way after the past two weeks.

The package arrived around 10 a.m. I picked it up and made a mean comment to my coworker about its potential comments... then opened it up to find a gift wrapped box. I immediately told the coworker in attendance that clearly, I am an asshole.

The happy package turned out to be a travel care package from the design firm, including a candy-orange lightweight travel umbrella, a clear plastic tote bad trimmed with fluffy orange feathers, a gorgeous red silk fabric with taupe, grey and black machine age snowflake design journal from thomas paul that I'd ogled at several fine stationery shops over the past few months, the very chic and funny grown up picture book "French Kitty in Kitty Goes to Paris" by fine(which made me think of my grandma who collected those kitschy 60s kitties), and a super practical and stylish "the great unwashed" laundry sack from packhappy. It was truly the best bon voyage care package I've ever received.

All day long, people asked when I was leaving on my trip. This was always followed up with a question as to whom I was ravelling with. That is, every time but once. The only person who didn't ask that question is the one person who'd rather not know if I was travelling with a cute boy. Having a last flirtation with this boy before I left was gift number two.

My screenprinting teacher gave me my final gift of the day. She walked into class tonight and made a bee-line for the stack of prints I'd completed this weekend on small and large bubble wrap squares. She was thrilled with the way the stencil worked and also loved the tactile quality of the stack of prints on the table...she was gushing over them. Once I claimed them as mine, she was even more excited since I am but one of two students in the class who don't consider themselves to be artists.

And that, my dears, is all for now. No. Sleep. 'till. Paris.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.