almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2005-09-26 - 8:37 p.m.

end of the line

Only 2 more days until this job o' mine is history!

That's right -- I got the job I really wanted, and start there on Friday. Happily, I get to take Thursday off to go get a massage and some other stuff done at Bliss Spa at the W. A coworker is meeting me there late in the day, so we can both have cocktails after our sessions, and toast to my new job. Heck, since SFMOMA is open late on Thursdays, we may even mosey over there to view the photography exhibit.

So, in light of my imminent departure, and yet-to-come restructuring, I haven't really had anything to do. The upside is I was able to go and get my hair colored (a deep brown red) and cut (my super long curls had a good 5 or more inches lopped off, with some cute curls to frame my face) during lunch today.

Since I last wrote, my ex and I have stopped even pretending to have a shred of friendship left. HIs mother nagged him into asking me for a "family heirloom" chair back (dued. this chair is form the 1960s equivalent of Scandinavian Designs). To add insult to injury, he offered me $100 so I could go buy myself a new chair.

This from the boy who was living with me when I put the Vogue article on the Barcelona chair up on the fridge. I was insulted. And I wanted to keep the chair. He gave me an ultimatum: "refrain from contacting" him until I was ready to give them back the chair. It escalated into nastiness, ending only when I finally said "We are no longer friends. There will be no further communication" and mapped all his emails to go directly into my trash folder.

I never thought our friendship would end over material objects. Of course, in reality, it's really about his mother and her demands and her nastiness towards me, but he will forever feel it's about...the chair. Oh well. If you've read these pages very long, it's pretty clear what a terrible excuse for a friend he's been since we divorced 3 years ago, so it's more of a sentimental loss than anything current or real.

Shifting gears, I am looking forward to the Sonoma County Harvest Festival this weekend (yummy wine tasting), and to seeing Mirror Mask. This past weekend involved seeing Corpse Bride (liked it but didn't love it as I loved Nightmare Before Christmas), making tuna casserole with cheeze it topping, and randomly running into the friend who'd flaked out on me earlier this year, and dragging him home to meet my boy, and getting to watch happily as they talked about boy things like online gaming.

Things are really good these days. And for that I am eternally thankful.

any comments? (3 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.