almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2005-09-12 - 6:05 p.m.

greetings from the land of phlegm


I've had my ass kicked by a late Summer cold. I missed out on going to Oasis (and I had FREE tickets with excellent seats!), and spent most of the weekend in bed.

My boy took good care of me, including making me tea and breakfast and bringing me cake. And on Sunday, he bundled me up and took me to Suppenkuche for some awesome CalGerman food (I had Wienerschnitzel with roasted potatoes and a half liter of Maredsous. Yum.) I was thinking the beer might cure me. Oh well -- at least it was fun trying. And the conversation at the shared table with two post-college chatty frat boys was pretty hysterical. Especially when one told us the other kept getting up from the table to take cell phone calls from the woman who was his live in housekeeper in thailand who called him about every 20 minutes ever since he returned to the states... Uh-huh.

I've been reading "We Thought You Would be Prettier" by Laurie Notaro. I picked it up at Clean Well Lighted Place for Books about a week ago, while we were waiting for our screening of Pretty Persuasion to start. It reminds me a lot of sixweasels in writing style. I can totally see her writing a similarly hysterically funny collection of nonfiction like this one day.

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.