almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-07-19 - 5:28 p.m.

my farmers' market habit got outta hand

winged victory I knew it would eventually happen. The expansion of the farmers' market, including the permanenet, open-during-the-week stands inside the ferry building, was obviously going to end up being an enticement to spend I would be unable to resist. After all, when you're face-to-face with the people who've grown the beautiful flowers and produce, it's so rewarding to give them money and compliments on the care and attention they've lavished upon the fruits of their labor.

Today's market was greatly enhanced by several permanent shops finally being open. Most unfortunately/fortunately for me, one of them was the Wine Merchant. I strolled through the space, just browsing, until I came upon their stash of Turley Zinfandels. I snapped up a bottle of their Old Vines and a "Juvenile", and chatted with the owner about the outrageous prices many folks charge for the Turleys these days...I have a feeling I'll end up walking through this shop at least once a week, if not during the market then on my lunch time strolls along the embarcadero.

A few steps from the Wine Merchant is the Cowgirl Creamery shop, which features both their own cheeses (including fabulous fresh mozarella, ricotta, and firm cow's milk cheeses), and Strauss Family Creamery's entire line, plus a couple of Neal's Yard hard cheeses. I snapped up some Strauss chocolate milk, and their half and half. I always lard my morning coffee up with a significant amount of half and half, and can't wait to try this one. (Note: Straus is the only U.S. produced butter I like to use for my baking as it has the richness of the European butters like Plugra.) I picked up some Pt. Reyes blue cheese to crumble into salad (featuring the watercress and strawberries I bought elsewhere in the market), and a pungent Neal's Yard English cheese called "Adrahan", which is earthy, with a cocoa finish that last for some time. I can't wait to eat some of it for dinner later on my Noe Valley Bakery baguette...

I was tempted to take a photo of the gorgeous dark purple and striped purple and white dahlias I bought, as well as the gorgeous heirloom tomatoes in their yellow, orange, and red hues. But then I thought that might be a wee bit obnoxious (also, the dining table is a mess.) So, you will just have to imagine what they -- and the bunch of red onions tied together and my haas avocadoes -- look like. This magnificent bounty is nearly enough incentive to throw a dinner party...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.