almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-11-04 - 4:42 a.m.

farmers market reflections on singledom

For the first time in about a month, I trekked down to the ferry plaza farmers' market today. With my impending new job (I start on the 15th) I felt I could be a little spendy on the grocery side of things. I found some perfect tiny parsnips to roast or fry in thin crispy rounds. I also indulged in my favorite treats from Healdsburg Bakery (brioche, doughnut muffins, and cheddar cheese scones), and a T Vine zin and a Kathryn Kennedy Lateral red blend from the wine shop.

My one big splurge (at Sur La Table), thanks to the inspiration inside the newly launched Chow magazine, was a pretty red silicone coated rolling pin to replace my crappy wooden pin (itself a replacement for my gorgeous Italian marble rolling pin that my Ex broke).

On the bus home from the farmers' market this morning, I reflected upon why I am single. It popped into my head thanks to having to ask the Cowgirl Creamery lady to cut excruciatingly small slivers of cheese (a grana parma, a mild Cypress Grove sheeps milk and some Humboldt Fog), for me so I could hope to eat them before they went bad. My Ex and I, of course, used to buy nice big hunks of cheese every week, for both eating as is and cooking purposes.

Back to the point -- here's why I'm single: I keep finding that the longer I know someone the less I find we actually have in common. Everyone puts on their best front at first, but after a short while, you learn that there are folks who don't like to eat cheese and baguette for dinner (and even those who don't like goat cheese). Or they can't fathom why you want to go on vacation to cities and look at art when you could instead hike through a jungle (since they have already forgotten you are allergic to all of nature)...or they have never seen a Fellini film. And, sadly, many have never even heard a Jesus and Mary Chain song, despite their assertions that they love all the same music as you.

Pretty much, until I find another David Lynch-loving, cheese-eating, food loving, art afflicted boy, I'm staying single. No dating boys without long term potential (not even just for hot sex.) This city is enough fun for me as a single girl -- I can wait to find the right boy for me.

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.