almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-11-11 - 6:48 p.m.

slack, slacker, slacking

My beloved (seen here) and I have spent the bulk of this week hiding in bed. I mean, it's been raining for a week, so, really, we had no other choice. And, besides, as of Monday, when I re-enter the 8-5 working world, I'll be forced to leave home every day at an ungodly hour regardless of motivation or precipitation.

Hence, the slothfulness.

Much time has been spent reading a billion blogs, the entire NY Times every day, my stack of unread magazines, and books I checked out from the library, including "Women Who Eat" and "The Rose Pistola Cookbook".

This week has also seen the publication of my review of the 540 Club which makes me very happy (I'm reviewing a wine bar for them next.) I spent all day Sunday volunteering for the Family Winemakers tasting, and though I tasted a good amount of wine, just wasn't feeling it over all. The tie between my love of food and wine and expressing my love for someone appears to be interfering with my enjoyment of these pleasures...or something like that. Perhaps someday I shall meet my prince, and he'll cook for me, and we'll fall giddily in love and live happily ever after.

Until then, I'll have the new job to distract me. Out of town friends (gay democrats from OH in need of some cheering up) here for the next 6 days shall also keep me busy.

I intended more depth to this entry but I'm somehow too tired. My apologies. Instead, here are some borrowings from my other journal for your enjoyment.

under the tuscan sun
This movie is evil. They barely get to the "This is Frances and she's just survived a terrible divorce", then show the duomo in Florence and I'm crying. And I *hated* Florence.

Maybe I'm not ready to go back to Italy. And maybe you move on, but never really get over some things. Or, maybe I really do need to go back, to help get through it. Or, perhaps I should save up to buy my own house in Tuscany. It is impossible to know. I need a sign.

Not So Silent Night
I bought 2 tickets for...Live 105's Not So Silent Night featuring Modest Mouse Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco, CA. Friday December 10, 2004 7:00 pm.

Also Performing:
Franz Ferdinand
MUSE
Interpol
Taking Back Sunday
The Killers

Love Meme
And lastly, here's a meme you should spread, even if you don't reply to it in my journal...

  1. Tell me one thing you love about me.
  2. Tell me two things you love about yourself.
  3. Look through the comments. When you see someone you know, tell them three things you love about them.
  4. Do this in your journal so I can tell you what I love about YOU - and if you've already done it, tell me so, so that I can go back and give you some love.

Off now to peruse some brioche recipes.

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.