almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-11-14 - 9:20 a.m.

lady of leisure goes to the market

I love to have out of town guests visiting. Especially if they are deprived foodies.

Despite the previous night's Anchor Christmas drinking at the Toronado with Will, I met up with Alex and John at 9:00 a.m., at the Ferry Plaza Farmers Market. We spent close to three hours there, and even ran into . The boys went home with June Taylor's Santa Rosa Plum Conserve, Cap'n Mike's Holy Smoke salmon candy (their smoked albino Alaskan King Salmon was amazing too, but more perishable), dried ancho peppers from Tierra, and some of Sciabica's central valley olive oil. They also lusted after the Point Reyes Blue Cheese dressing and some Mount Tam from Cowgirl Creamery, but that's not something that would survive unrefrigerated for the plane trip home to OH.

I'm so happy to hear that the boys are thinking of moving back here. Among other things, they miss lving in the foodie mecca that is SF. We're having dinner Monday night, location TBD, to celebrate my first day at my new job.

After I left the boys, I popped my head in at 77 Maiden Lane to see if there was any way they could squeeze me in for a massage, facial and haircut. If you've ever been there or to any other popular spa/salon on a Saturday, you realize how crazy of a request that is. Somehow, the reservationist managed to figure out a way to do it despite the book being pretty solid red with appointments.

So, after a few hours of window shopping and a big cobb salad at an outdoor table, I ambled back to the salon to have 5 inches wacked off the bottom of my hair. As the stylist, Allen, pointed out, I didn't really need artifically created layers since my hair is so long that the normal regrowth of hair provides some layers. After bringing my hair up to a more presentable elbow-length (it had grown to my waist which is way too long and hard to manage), through some amazing trick or perserverence or something, with a spritz of some sort of lightweight styling fluid, and later something to tame the ends, managed to transform my normal unruly curls into shiny straight hair. It was shocking and gorgeous.

After that the massage, the facial to soothe my dry sky, then home for a chill evening. Such is the exciting life I lead (haha.) Tonight I'm meeting up with Hutch for a cocktail then on to the New Itaian Cinema reception with Alicia, then perhaps to dinner with her after that, then home to bed early to get some beauty sleep. Turns out I got in to the 8 a.m. orientation session tomorrow... I see a triple vanilla latte in my future...

And although I have been reading journals daily, I am woefully behind in repying to comments / notes / etc. I suspect this will only worsen since I doubt I'll be able (technically and time-wise) to post here from work...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.