almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-01-09 - 4:26 p.m.

comfort food: french toast

When we're sick, we each crave different foods (see my food survey for some examples.) Typically, I crave Indian food. Presumably, I like the kick to my system that comes courtesy of the spicy curry. Today though, it's a different story. I'm craving...french toast. My own personal favorite french toast, which requires one ingredient I don't have on hand: gruyere.

Oh well. If I can't eat it myself, I might as well share my recipe here, for single-serving french toast:

Superior French Toast

2 slices thick white bread
2 eggs
2 TBSP half and half
1 TBSP grand marnier
2 slices gruyere
strawberry jam
butter

In a wide bowl, whisk together the eggs, half and half, and grand marnier (NOTE: yes, You can substitue orange juice but you're better off omitting entirely.) Melt butter (1-2 tsp) over medium heat in a pan large enough for both slices of bread. Lay each slice of bread in the bowl, coating each side with the egg mixture. Place bread in the pan. When first side is lightly browned (1-2 minutes), turn over. Place gruyere slices on the top of the bread and cook until done (another 1-2 minutes). Serve with a few spoonfulls of strawberry jam on top.

Now, doesn't that sound yummy?

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.